Communing with the spirit of Darwin and swimming with the turtles...


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
October 27th 2011
Published: November 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

What a fantastic cruise to the Galapagos! I went on the Seamen Catamaran. Here's my 8 day itinerary

1. 10-27 Isla Santa Cruz- I flew into Baltra airport. We started at Puerto Ayora and did a trip to the Charles Darwin Research Station

2. 10-28 Isla Isabela- Snorkeled at Punto Moreno. I had a great time swimming with the turtles. We took a punga ride (small motor boat) through Elizabeth Bay. I saw hundreds of yellow rays.

3. 10-29 Isla Isabela and Fernandina- I snorkeled at Urbina Bay and took a walk on Punta Espinoza. Snorkeled again at Punta Vicente Roca. Oh and passed the equator on the boat...very cool!

4. 10-30 Isla Bartolome- I snorkeled at the pinacle and took walk around Islas Plazas.

5. 10-31 Isla San Cristobal- I visited the interpretation center. And snorkelled at Kicker Rock (Leon Dormido) and Islas Lobos

6. 11-1 Isla Espanola- Gardner Bay, Garder Islet and Suarez Point

7. 11-2 Isla Floreana- Devil's Crown, Cormorant Punta, Post office bay

8. 11-3 Back to Puerto Ayora

My most memorable moments included swimming with the turtles, penguins, a baby sea lion and the lots and lots
Bluefooted BoobiesBluefooted BoobiesBluefooted Boobies

My personal favorite
of sharks. The water was a bit cold but totally due able with wet suits. I saw schools of fish and very bright starfish. I also enjoyed the walks on the various islands. Seeing an iguana swim is pretty cool!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

View from my cabin...View from my cabin...
View from my cabin...

what luck to have it all to myself!
PenguinsPenguins
Penguins

I got to swim with one!
SharksSharks
Sharks

I got to swim with a bunch of very friendly sharks.
Really excited!!Really excited!!
Really excited!!

Accidents happen :)
Cool islandCool island
Cool island

Get back to you later re name.


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb