Love Cuenca...Happy Birthday to me!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » South » Cuenca
November 3rd 2011
Published: November 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I had my qualms about going to Cuenca on a holiday weekend. I was told that most of the fiesta was on November 1-2. My flight from Guayaquil was a late so I arrived in the evening to Cuenca. Most of the hotels were filled so the tour agency in Quito had booked me a room at Villa Nova Inn. The hotel was along the river and a bit far from the town center. When I arrived, I discovered the hotel have given my room to another couple. I got room on the first floor room with double bed and they got the room on the 2nd floor with the queen size bed. The room was dingy, very loud and did not feel secure. I made plans to leave the following day. Then I stayed for two nights at Hotel Dorado. The hotel serves mostly business clients from Ecuador. The rooms were overpriced but there was cable and this was not a weekend to be picky...plus on Friday I had a ¨TV day¨ which I really needed. It was great watching Travel and Living channel for several hours. Then I finally had a chance to experience staying at the La Posada
Hotel Villa NovaHotel Villa NovaHotel Villa Nova

REALLY not happy with my first hotel in Cuenca
del Angel. The place lived up to its cuteness...It was full of mostly American travelers. The sociability felt a bit like the scene from ¨A Room with a View.¨ It was great meeting Krista and company. Krista and I went on a couple of tours together and had some good conversation. The only criticism I have was that my room was a bit loud. It was near the reception and the TV which was constantly on and blaring. When I return I requested a quieter room. The place is so full of charm that I have to go back.

I had some pretty good food in Cuenca also. My first dinner was at Cafe Eucalyptus- another charming place with a decent plate of ravioli. Then next day I had some fantastic coffee at Moliendo Cafe. Its a Columbian restaurant some and very clean. I tried the tasty arepas with beans and cheese. After that I ran into my German friend and had dinner at El Pedregal Azteca. Its owned by man from the Mexico. I had enchiladas with green sauce. The best part was the homemade chip and spicy salsa (it gave me heartburn). Finally I had a great conversation with Krista at the Austurian cafe.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb