Bartolome


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Galápagos
January 19th 2009
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We start the day with snorkeling in the morning. The water is so clear. It's amazing. I get to use my underwater camera. There are so many fish that you can see and a few sea iguanas. I even get to see a reef shark 😊. I will definitely need to get these pictures developed.

After breakfast, we go see more iguanas, crabs, birds and sea lions. The sea lions really stink. I will be glad when we don't see any more of them. The two islands that we have landed on have a lot of lava rocks. The one we landed on today has a black sandy beach. I remember seeing one in Lima, but this one is clean. It's very strange to see a black sand on a beach.

We have lunch and are off to another island. At the new island, we do beach snorkeling, which isn't as good as the snorkeling we did in the morning. The water is very murky. The problem with beach snorkeling in the Galapagos is there is no coral reef like in other places such as Fiji. We finally hike up a small mountain to end the day. By dinner I'm feeling like crap. Dina gives me a Tylenol Cold and Flu tablet which helps me sleep. I call it an early night again.

As a side note: Everyone usually went to bed around 20:30 or 21:00. I guess we were just tired from a full day of activities. Either that or the heat was getting to us.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Male and FemaleMale and Female
Male and Female

Can you figure out which is which?


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb