In Lago...humid, humid Lago Agrios


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » East
November 16th 2008
Published: November 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This morning worked out well, I woke up and did short but tough up hill hike that looked over Baeza and the highway passing through, nice way to begin a day. So now I´m in Lago waiting for tomorrow´s pick up by the jungle tour company. Another interesting day of bus riding, which was for the most part easy considering I just strolling down to the road to Lago Agrios saw a bus, yelled ¨Lago?¨ got picked up and spent the next 6 hours enjoying some truly impressive travel views while sitting with my pack on my lap while usually two people sat in the seat next to me. My favorite was a young boy, his sister and their tiny puppy who´d they just picked up and were keeping in a plastic bag (the puppy´s head was sticking out so it could breath for any PETA members).

I started sweating the moment we got into Lago, I went into a place called ´Pollo de Carbon´ where the young girl who was supposed to serve me laughed and walked away as I attempted to say ´I don´t speak Spànish´, still have some pronounciation issues to work out. I got presented with a meal of chicken and rice and happily scarfed it down, I hadn´t made an opportunity to eat until around 2pm, I was a bit too scared to leave my pack unattended on the bus to get a real meal when we stopped. Buses are a real experience, lots of stopping and no announcing, I was sure I´d missed Lago at mulitple points b/c of dozing. Lago is an interesting city, I walked around some but didn´t want to lose my bearings, it may not be too big but it I don´t want to get lost. There´s lots of broken concrete and rubble, crowded shopping, and random batches of street vendors selling grilled food, I haven´t gotten the courage to buy anything from them, my horribly, terrible broken excuse for Spanish hasn´t panned out, I´m working on it and I plan on taking at least one or two lessons in Baños. My goal is to get a least one Ecuadorian to understand what I´m saying, most are polite and smile at my attempts.

I will give the same advice to anyone travelling here that every tour book gave me about coming to Ecuador...LEARN SPANISH! I´ll write again when I get back from the jungle.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The view from Lago hotel roomThe view from Lago hotel room
The view from Lago hotel room

The room has AC, yes, I am a wuss!


17th November 2008

Zachary asked why you are going to the jungle -- we just said because he wants to. Z seemed to like that answer. Rylee smiled. Chad said - Really cool - I would love to do what he is doing. WIth a plan of course. I am loving the blog - thanks for taking the time to do it!!
18th November 2008

Flippin Cool
As you would say how Flippin Cool!! I would love to do something like that some day. Be safe, Is the Beer good there??

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb