San Jorge Kinder Jarden


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » East » Tena
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post



Today, My class went on a short walk to the river just to look around and to collect sand for our craft which we did a bit later. It was fun to get out of the school and the kids really enjoyed it. They have been doing there numbers and thoughourly enjoyed running around pointing our all the numbers they found on the way to the river. I took this outing as an opportunity to take my camera in and the kids loved posing and then looking at the picture.

I had a pretty cool weekend. On Saturday I got up early and joined a group of about 12 and went white water rafting. It was amazing and I only fell out once but was pushed many times. It was a catgory 4 river so the rapids were quite big, I was in a smaller raft with just three others and we tried so hard to flip it, but it never happened! In all we rafted down two separate river doing about 40km in all. It took the whole day and I was pretty tired at the end and have got sun burnt on my knees as all sun cream attempts were worthless as I was in the water so much.

Sunday I went along with my Host Family to Bilma´s (the host mum) sisters new house and helped paint it. It was a very simple wooden plank house but the aim was to paint the enitre thing, inside and out. In all I think I painted about three of the rooms and it took ages but it was much appriciated and I was given a nice lunch when we got home!

I plan to do some more rafting in the coming weekends because it was awesome!!!!

Anyway, I hope all is well with you all.

Kez


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

story timestory time
story time

The teacher, Laura, told the kids a story when we were by the river.
group photogroup photo
group photo

This is all the kids in my class that day! Its not as controlled as schools back home, there is no registar and its luck who turns up day to day. You can see that they weren't enjoying the group photo. This was the best of three!
Lunch TimeLunch Time
Lunch Time

Basically, I was told, the kids used to come to school having not had any breakfast and would be tired and their performance would be poor in class. So the government provides a hot choclate like drink and some biscuits for them when they come to school and then some basic supplies like rice, tuna, sardines etc. for lunch. The parents just pay a small amount to pay the women hired to cook.


5th March 2008

Hello!
Hey you. can't say this enough (well at least to myself) but I'm dead jealous. How often do you get to blog? Glad to hear you've been trying hard to stay clean and healthy as well as learning a language!! Coke is the way forward. I bumped into Mr. Scotchmer at a concert at the weekend, which was nice - yes I did miss him. I'm just off to a language and Theory lecture now, but keep up the awesome pictures and blogs:) xx
5th March 2008

hey Helen, I'm glad you are enjoying my blog that much Helen, Its cool to hear from you. Three comments in one, that is how it should be done!! It's cool to hear about the Leeds nature discovery, you're keeping yourself busy. Hows uni anyway? I bet you've lost count of the number of concerts you're done. I go on the internet quite a lot actually because there are that many internet cafes here in Tena, and its pretty cheap. So I'm sure we will correspond more!!! Lots of Love Kez
6th March 2008

reply
Well I haven't done all that many actually, maybe about 6? But DEFINATELY plenty of singing! Got a bit of sore throat at the moment which is a bit annoying. Oh and you know I bought that dress? Well turns out I got fined for going overdrawn :( Going to see Owen tomorrow for the first time since New Year!! so that should be good. Looking forward to your next blog. Miss you lots x
6th March 2008

photos
Oh and might I add that you're getting a lot better at those photos! x
6th March 2008

WOW!
Awww, your pupils are so cute.......very different to my classes, ha, ha! Great pictures and blog, keep them coming! Busy laminating for a BP Adventure this weekend so gave me some entertainment while doing that boring job! Rx
16th March 2008

well jelous!!everything just looks so amazing and white water rafting sounds so much fun!!u should def do it again.shame we are not seeing many pics of U!!get some1 to take some pics wiv u in or maybe just take a pic of ur burnt knees!xxx
16th March 2008

although my knees are truly beautiful(?) I'm not too sure whether many people would like to see them! There were some pictures taken of me when I went rafting by the other guys and I'm going to get them to send them to me. I hope you are planning big things for you birthday. Its a bit of a travelling day for me and so I will warn you now that I may not be able to contact you that day but I will try! That day I fly to the Galapagos Islands but I will seek out an internet cafe and it will be a mini mission of mine. Shame about the weather your end. I would say that its will be summer soon but I know aswell as you do that that means nought when you live in Engalnd!!! Anyway, speach soon!!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb