first day of school


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » East » Tena
February 14th 2008
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

the equatorthe equatorthe equator

The three other Americans and I on the equator
Hello there

I had my first day at the school today and it seemed to go well. There are about 20 kids all about 5 years old. There is just the one teacher and two women that do the cooking. I think i´m understanding more of what everyone is generally saying but my response is generaly limited to, good, thank you, yes, no, very good, hello, goodbye, good day, and so obviously sentances are a thing for the next couple of months.

I think I might look at doing some whitewater rafting this weekend for two specific reasons: 1. it will be cool and 2. it says in the guide book says the owner is english!

Since coming to Tena from quito the altitude is significantly less so I haven´t had problems with that, I have however got a tonne of blisters on my feet from wearing flip flops on a long walk and I seem not to be able to keep breakfasts down and have been sick twice in a row!! Anyway that long walk I was talking about was trying to find my way home after being dropped off in the centre of Tena to
egg testegg testegg test

This is me trying very hard to balance the egg on the nail!
use the internet yesterday. I was confinced that I had payed enough attention to the route that I woiuld be able to get back alright, but I got lost. I walked for ages and then decided that I would have to phone Bilma, the women I am staying with. But talking spanish on the phone is near by impossible, so I decided that I would have to walk all the way back to the centre just to be able to say That I am by the internet cafe so they could pick me up. This combined walk took about 1 and a half hours in pretty humid conditions!! They did pick me up and I realised that at the furthest point of my walk to their house I was about 10m away to their home!! typical! Anyway It gave them something to laugh at!!

I haven´t had any coke since the weekend so I am off to get some to get my all needed sugar boost!

Anyway, happy valentines day

love Kez


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

egg test sucessegg test sucess
egg test sucess

This is me feeling very chuffed that I had managed to do it and I have a certiciate to prove it!
balancing on the equatorbalancing on the equator
balancing on the equator

This is where the two forces from each hemisphere are acting on your thumbs (!) apparently which makes it reall yhard to walk in a straight line.
the Quito Groupthe Quito Group
the Quito Group

This is the people I dtayed with just for a few days while I was in Quito. The women in the red top is Gaby the i-to-i co-ordinator and the Other women was our homestay.


15th February 2008

Coke, sugar??
Kezia - at home you only drink diet coke which doesn't normally give you much of a sugar fix as it doesn't have any in it!
16th February 2008

cool!!!!
The pics look good but yet another typical kez moment. ur blog is going to keep me amused i can tell.Hope ur feet heal quickly and keep the pics coming xxx
19th February 2008

Hey Michelle, How life treating you?! its been cool hearing from you and although they are certainly not deliberate the ´Kez moments will surely keep coming´. Love Kez
21st February 2008

WOW! you look like your having fun! what exactly are you going to be doing?
22nd February 2008

Hey bex Well i´m helping out in a kinder garden at the mo. Trying to teach them as much english as possible but they are only like 4 years old. I staying in a homestay for this first month while i´m at the school and then I´m going to the galapagos and Peru. Yeah, it should be fun. How´s work going? still enjoying it? It was fun meeting up in the swimming pool for a chat once in a while!!!! speak soon, Kez

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb