Watch where you put your hands...the Ecuadorian Amazon


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » East » El Coca
May 18th 2010
Published: May 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Quito on Sunday afternoon, checked into my gorgeous little hotel, La Rabida and decided to go for a short walk. I asked the friendly guy at reception where to wander and he gave me a little map and pointed me in the right direction. Then I asked if it was safe - I had heard that Quito was in parts quite dangerous. He responded that it was perfectly safe, but as an afterthought added that I shouldn't take my camera or more money than I think I would need. So not really then!

Anyhow Sunday afternoons in most Latin American countries from what I can tell is completely dead, however I wandered around the neighbourhood in the area that I am staying, Mariscal. It was only on my return that found a guidebook to Ecuador in the guest library and read that Mariscal offers lots of tourist services but ironically is very dangerous for tourists, and at night time, even if you only have two blocks to walk, you should take a cab. It also said that Sundays were completely dead and could be dodgy too. And then it concluded by saying ideally you shouldn't even stay in
CaimanCaimanCaiman

If you look really hard you can see a caiman on the bottom log on the right.
the area. Gulp! However the guidebook was quite old, about 5 years, and according to many of the other guests that I met, the situation has changed quite a bit. That said, I was particularly pleased to see that we had a 24 hour security guard in the hotel!

After the dangers of urban Quito, coming into the rainforest did not seem to present the same hazards!

We flew from Quito to Coca, then took a 2 hour canoe ride up the Napo River (about 70 kms in total), then walked through the forest for half an hour, and then had another canoe ride for 20 minutes or so, and then we finally reached Sacha Lodge . It was so exciting to finally get here! And we saw wildlife even before we got here. As we were speeding down the river on the canoe, all of a sudden the canoe came to a stop and the guides got really excited. We started turning back, and then Luis, one of the guides, yelled to us, 'Anaconda, on the log'. WHY WERE GOING BACK THERE???!!! However as went back, we saw that it was not an anaconda after all but a caiman. Then we saw a whole lot of turtles. Set the scene for some good days ahead!

The lodge is set in a private reserve of 1800 hectares, the largest private reserve in the Ecuadorian Rainforest, and the lodge is built near a lagoon, which is also where we are encouraged to go swimming in our spare time. Not surprisingly, it is very hot and humid.

It's a gorgeous lodge, and I have a small little hut to myself. I could fit a small Ecuadorian family in there with me. We don't have mosquito nets, but there is mosquito netting instead of windows and we are advised to keep the doors closed when the lights are on to keep insects out. Didn't stop the two giant cockroaches I found in my bathroom this morning though!

When we arrived we were welcomed with a cocktail, and told about living in the jungle and how the next few days ahead will work. At all times when we go on the trails we will be with a guide. Phew. I was not keen on wandering aimlessly by myself! Also, watch where you put your hands, because you don't know what lives
Welcome!Welcome!Welcome!

We finally made it
where, and many of the plants have protective measures built in like spiny bark or other such nasties.

We are divided into groups, each with our own guide. Ours is Gus, and he has perfect English. We also have an Indian guide, Segundo, who speaks Quechuan and Spanish. He was born in the rainforest so is very knowledgable about the plants, their medicinal uses and basically everything about the jungle. He also carries a large knife thing which hopefully can be used to rescue me from any anacondas! So there are six tourists and two guides.

Our days start very early because that is when the bird life and animal life is most active. This morning I had a wake up call at 5.30 am, breakfast at 6.00 am and we started out through the forest at 6.30 am. This morning's destination was the Towers, which are 40 metres high, and designed to sit over the forest canopy so that you can see the bird life. It was really spectacular. I saw birds of all shapes, sizes, colours. I managed to get a good photo of a white breasted toucan, which was pretty cool.

This afternoon we have another hike through the forest and then a canoe ride. But before then we have an optional exercise of piranha fishing. Interestingly this takes place in the same place that we can go swimming! Needless to say, I haven't been in the water yet.

It's amazing to think of all the amazing things that I have seen already, and I've been here less than 24 hours. And I've got three more days to go!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Heading across the bridgeHeading across the bridge
Heading across the bridge

Segundo, the Indian guide, leads the way


18th May 2010

hot in the jungle
Hi Rach, sounds and looks amazing. Suggest you encourage a fellow guest to try the water first before you take the plunge.
19th May 2010

Looks like you are having a great time.I cant believe you have been riding horses-amazing!See you soon. Have safe travels home.Sam
20th May 2010

In the forest
Your blogs go from strength to strength- haven't commented on the previous two but have certainly enjoyed them and now wait breathless for what the next jungle installment will bring. I always wanted to see all that. I'm just home from 24 hours in Wgtn for Maddy's Capping- a happy occasion topped off with a family dinner at a great Italian restaurent where Lucy joined us, so I'm all up to date with her too. She was in good form but v busy! Best of luck and tread carefully! Yvonne
20th May 2010

Hi Rach - wow was waiting to read that you had seen an anaconda - when do you arrive home?

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb