Here comes the sun!


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Quilotoa
April 5th 2007
Published: April 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We woke up bright and early at 5.30am (well early but not really bright as it was still pitch black) and managed to drag everyone out from under their blanket mountains. No-one managed to brave the shower though as it was actually colder than outside - no idea how they manage that! We kitted up enough for an Arctic expedition with at leats five layers plus our newest acquisitions of matching llama wool hat and glove sets before stting off to the viewing point. Quite an experience trying to stumble up a dirt track with no lights whatsoever but we made it in one piece to watch the sunrise. Really beautiful and the lake looked incredible. Once we had appreciated as much as the cold would let us we went back to the hostal in time for breakfast. I have never been so glad to see coffee in my life! (And I don't even like it)

After having thawed a little we got started on the walk down the inside of the crater to the lake. Really quite hard going especially ehn it got to ankle deep sand on a very steep incline - probably would have been easier just to roll down it. Bel being Bel decided to climb down a cliff instead of using the path much to the amusement of the locals.

Finally made it down where we went kayaking on the lake before having to get mules back up (most of us anyway). Really quite impressed I made it as my mule (Alfonso - named in honour of one of the kids at the orphanage) loved going as close to the edge as possible and then bashing into Ezim's mule in front.

Got sidetracked by market stalls at the top where I bought a mask which is used at Christmas to ward off spirits (although I'm sure it will do just as well hanging on my wall at uni) and two paintings which I thought were the tackiest things ever when we first arrived but now really like. I hope it lasts when I get home!

In the afternoon we set off to walk part way around the crater (the complete walk being six hours and not something you're supposed to do after dark so we couldn't do it all). Incredible views down to the lake and we could even see Cotapaxi in the distance.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The way downThe way down
The way down

Very glad we didn't have to walk back up again!


12th April 2007

I am SO JEALOUS!!!!!
Hi Kat Well you've really done it now. All my favourites in one place. Mountains, sunrise ,lakes and mules??? (sorry did I add mules???) Take the last one off. It looks fantastic. Why can't we see a photo of you in your llama hats?
15th April 2007

Not another beautiful mountain?
I'm sitting here on the computerwhen this next photo turns up. Nothing like getting me jealous again. I want to see this photo of the hummingbird on a cactus. Sounds painful. What's this about men cooking at three in the morning? Send them this way!
16th April 2007

gorgeous photos
Hi Kat! Love that first picture of the lake and flowers. Very artistic!
17th April 2007

Hi Kat!
Hi Kat! Looks like you're having a great time. Keep showing us more photos. They're lovely. Love Wahid. xxx
5th May 2011
Later in the day

great shots!
I love all your pics. they are taken wonderfully. :)

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb