Time in Shell Ecuador


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Puyo
January 12th 2012
Published: January 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, instead of posting on facebook and then sending out emails to my friends and supporters who don't have facebook, someone recommended this. Being new to the blog thing we'll see how it goes. The nice part is that those who don't have facebook will still be able to see photos without me having to send a bunch in emails. Considering the speed of my internet connection, I think this might save me quite a bit of time. So, bear with me and I hope this helps keep everyone up to date on what I'm doing.

So this week has also been interesting and challenging. Since it is my first week being on call, I wasn't sure what to expect. There have been plenty of interesting cases which those who have facebook may have heard about already. To summarize briefly gunshots, snake bites, baby that got burned from the new years eve festivities of building symbols of the outgoing year and lighting them on fire, coding a baby in the ER, neck surgery on a 99 year old guy (who did great!) and I'm sure I'm forgetting something else too.

Spanish is actually getting better. The tutor and trying to speak it more at work and when I'm hanging out with the Ecuadorian interns is really starting to pay off.

This week I've been working on running close enough to the hospital that I can still get there quick for call. Meeting the person who is going to put you to sleep for surgery when they are soaking wet from sweating isn't all that nice, but since it rains about 10 times a day here, odds are that I'll be wet from the rain and no one will think twice. I know it's time to run again when my shoes dry out, which after the big soaker the other day it took 36 hours!

So, I'll try to figure out how to post pictures and start putting up the few that I have. Next week I should have more so hang in there. Take care and best wishes to all.

Dunc

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb