Helping another Volunteer´s Project


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Puyo
February 10th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Greetings to all blog readers. As many of you know, I have written about fellow Puyo Volunteer, Matt, in a few of my blogs. He is working on a project along the same lines as my Env. Education guide. My project was to train teachers, his project is to provide ¨workbooks¨ to actual students who lack any real materials. It is a worthy project that was started by former Volunteer Katie Wallace and Matt has refused to let her hard work go for naught.

I know that economic times are tight, but I´ll ask you anyhow to take a look at his project below. If you can donate even $5 or $10 it would be wonderful for him and for the students of Pastaza.


I've been in Ecuador for about a year and its been a great experience in almost all ways imaginable. I live in one of the most incredible places in the world, on the edge of the Amazon. I can take an 18 cent bus to the outskirts of town and see monkeys passing by in the trees, hundreds of species of orchids, not to mention an incredible diversity of birds, if I was to get up early enough. The people that I know here are super friendly, on a few occasions when I'm out and about visiting people I end up eating 4 or 5 meals a day. Life is not without its difficulties, for sure, work probably being the hardest for me. People here often say that politics is a pastime here, in such that so much time is lost on campaigns and debating that little actually gets done. Other personal difficulties include the blasting stereos at 6am (the other day at 530, 530, its still dark out!) and the semi - savage dogs that roam town all night.
I'm writing to ask for help with a school project that I have been working on; its actually a continuation of some environmental education materials that were written by the previous volunteer here. Walk into some of the rural schools here and you will find a dearth of materials, books; even the essentials like paper and pencils that we take for granted are missing from these classrooms. We´ve come up with a 25 page textbook about the plants, animals, ethnic groups, and conservation issues in the region. I'll be distributing a paper version (as well as digital CD) during the next semester of the school year, from March until June, I just need a few thousand dollars to be able to print these materials. You can see a few sample pages I've attached. Its in Spanish (obviously!) but you should be able to figure it out. To donate go to the link below, at peacecorps.gov in the donors section.
Please feel free to share this with any one you know, teachers- biology, Spanish, etc, grandparents without email.

Thanks for your help
Matt
https://www.peacecorps.gov/index.cfm?shell=resources.donors.contribute.projDetail&projdesc=518-328

http://monkeysaresmarter.blogspot.com/

Advertisement



12th February 2009

Book Program
I threw in a ten spot in your name. larry

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb