Mt. Cotopaxi


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Cotopaxi
October 11th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

An early departure from our house had us in the back of a truck with mountain bikes on the roof, heading straight towards Cotopaxi National Park. This park is Ecuador's premier Andean sanctuary, housing the country's second highest peak, which is also the highest active volcano in the world. It's summit is 5897m above sea level, and demands dedication, adjustment to altitude, and excellent physical condition. "The first refuge", located at 4800m, is reserved for the more laid back Cotopaxi experience... AKA me! A bumpy drive brought us to the base of the volcano, where we were promised a "short" hike to the cabin. This "short" hike yet again proves my point of the special "Ecuadorian time zone". Two hours later I stumbled into the cabin, completely drained and out of breath from the drastic change in altitude. Going down took half the time because we literally had to ski down the steep slope. We then got on our mountain bikes and began the 30km trail to the base of Cotopaxi. Being my first time mountain biking I was scared shitless, but I held on for dear life and tried to keep my eyes open. We ran into everything from rain and hail to wild horses and llamas, as well as beautiful countryside peppered in volcanic rock from Cotopaxi's recent eruptions. Even though I obviously didn't reach the summit (which requires 8 hours of overnight hiking) I still feel very accomplished and have to say that this has been my best Ecuadorian experience yet!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



12th October 2009

Way to go Nora the mountain climber! Sounds like quite a challenge. I think I'll buy you your own personal Oxygen tank for these high altitudes!
15th October 2009

You are my HERO
Nora Mae... u never..neeever eeever cease to amaze me.. What a profound adventure you have taken!!.. life in combermere is pretty CALM.. by your standards..... missin you lotz and go VERY well!! Love ya lotz
15th October 2009

warm and welcome
re: Group photo's in the cabin... kinda looks like the Wilno Tavern in a rustic sort of way!! Vat u don't know .. u Vilno!!
16th October 2009

ooh la la!
Nice peeeeektures Nowa!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb