Illiníza Norte (5126 m)


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Cotopaxi
January 27th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This was a long hike up again. I could have taken a camionetta in El Chaupi, but as I wanted to save the 10 USD, and also thought it would be a good exercise I hiked up all the way to the refugio at 4740m with a heavy backpack (must have been around 15 kg). The refugio was already full of hikers and even more guides as it seemed. They all were surprised to see a solo woman coming in and even more surprised when they heard I had hiked up all the way from El Chaupi.

It was difficult to catch any sleep, as as the last one to arrive I had received the worst of the matrasses (while ALL are really bad), which must have been there for at least the past 200 years or so, and as from 3am people started to get up for their climbs, switched on lights, talked loud,..

At 5am I got up as well, together with a few others, and started the hike at 6am. It was a beautiful morning with a red sunrise and a view over all the major volcanoes - Cotopaxi, Antisana, Cayambe, Chimborazo....

There was just one other couple going up at the same time, with a guide. Whil I first wa behing them, I soon overtook them and the guide seemed to be surprised that I made it all up there by myself and faster than them.

The way was fairly ok to find, although in three places I really had to search for it. On the upper parts there was snow on the rocks so one had to be really careful in order not to slip.

Back in the refugio, the guide of the other couple asked me whether I was also going down to El Chaupi. I said yes. Then he would take me down for 10 USD, he said. Now, how stupid would I be to go down in a car for 10 USD, if I hiked up all the way to save 10 USD?! And for 10 USD I could hire my own private camionetta, and they were going down anywhere. I said no thanks, and walked down happily (in just over an hour from the parking lot). They were passing me in their car, when I was already quite far down....



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



30th January 2008

ILLiniza Norte & Cotopaxi 27-01-2008
Sonja, it's great to do all the way your alone! The great thing is not to save the 10USD, but to get the surprise from all the others and guides. Keep it, you do it very well! I respected you so much!
17th May 2008

Looks like a good climb too, I guess this is a warmup for Cotopaxi.
1st June 2008

Yes, Illiniza is perfect to prepare for Cotopaxi, as it is the only one which is about 5-600m lower tha Cotopaxi.

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb