arrival


Advertisement
Ecuador's flag
South America » Ecuador » Centre » Central Highlands
August 25th 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, really tired and jetlagged, I think, Its hard to tell with the backgoround altitude sickness etc.
Flight..Bristol= hassle. Why is a non sealable bag of toiletries a security risjk when a sealed bag isnt?
Amsterdam..only people on my flight seemed to be middle aged business men. Interrogated for about ten mins to get on a flight.
Flight to usa v comfy with in seat enertainment good food and service. US passport control= joke TWO HOUR queue for passport control, I would never go through unless I had to again and ive got to do it twice on the way back! plane to quito cramped and uncomfy.
Quito riport HIGH..altitude a prob as soon as I arrived, still now Im out of breath headachy tired and with a wierd taste in my mouth.
So far Quito is a typical south american city, dirty dusty and full of people beeping cars at me saying hello or trying to sell stuff-but although I feel a bit vulnerable so far so good.
The hostel is nice, very basic and extremely lukewarm water but friendly. Was chatting with some girls who Im going to meet for supper later, until then Im trying to sort a way out of Quito, as Im going to be here for long enough anyway!
Doesnt seem entirely safe, there was lots of noise last night because some ggirl had had her camera grabbed and the guy who triied to help her had been attacked with tennis rackets., and at breakfast the girls were telling me about their bags getting slashed, but I will be careful...
spanish is a bit of a struggle!! IU feel totally unprepared and I need to buy anti malarials--

Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb