An airport janitor flirts with me in Cucuta, Colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
July 17th 2008
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was waiting for my plane departure in the small airport of Cucuta, Colombia. The airport is so small that I was the only one in line to check my bags, pass through security and now I sat with only a handful of people in the lobby. I sat towards the back of the second floor lobby and looked out to my right. Half the building was an open air veranda so I could see the lush Andes mountains in the distance and feel the cool breeze.
I sat and philosophized about life and anything that popped into my head. I looked up and saw across the room a middle aged janitor in a neon green jumpsuit lock eyes with me but quickly look away. She began talking and laughing with another janitor adjacent to her looking back at me every now and then. I wasn't sure what to think about what they were saying or if I was a butt of one of their jokes.
They started slowing mopping towards me. They tried to approach me sneakily but their neon green jumpsuits made them easy to spot. Then finally one stopped and got within a couple of feet of my face. She just stared at me with a slight grin at what felt like an eternity.
Finally she asked, "Tus ojos son naturales o son lentes?"
I was a little surprised by the question but responded, "Son naturales."
She laughed and told m. e it wasn't true. The second janitor came up and also stopped to admire my eyes. They asked where I was from, what I did for a living, and how old I was. Typical questions a traveler receives. Unfortunately, I couldn't return the interest because I already knew where they were from, I knew they were janitors and I learned a long time ago that there is no culture in the world where you can ask a woman's age.
She asked me for my hotmail messenger ID and I was extremely flattered although they were old enough to be my moms. They were beautiful, but much more mature nonetheless. The one that had first approached me said she had a 25 year old daughter and that she wanted me to stay in her home the next time I was in Cucuta. We swapped contact information and they went back to work while I remain seated but deeply flattered and with a grin on my face.
A couple of hours later, we began boarding. The line to pass through the second stage of security was less than a dozen people. As I reclaimed my bags and got ready to head to the gate, I turned and saw the two middle aged janitors in their bright green jumpsuits. They were leaning up against the wall as if they were waiting for me. I smiled and waved goodbye and they stood watching, smiling and waving as if we had known each other for years.
The great thing about travel is that you never know who you will meet or what experiences you will have. The unknown, unplanned and pleasant surprises is what drives me to continue globe trotting.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb