Coconuts and cavity searches


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
July 30th 2007
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

¨Hands against the wall, drop your pants and spread your butt cheeks´¨. The military man bent over until he was eye level with my mates arse and peered into the depths looking for a stash of drugs. He took severl moments to inspect his quarry whilst my friend stood with his face pushed against the wall. Disgruntled when there was nothing other than a few hairs and a chocolate smear he looked for ways to confiscate our bottle of rum.

Laughing on the inside I wasn´t one to point the finger. A few hours earlier our bus had been stopped randomly by the military. Clearly looking for someone or something, my bag was identified as being suspicious. As the heavily armed men pawed through my belongings, a fellow passenger unnervingly eyeballed me. I began to experience a Shapelle Corby moment and visions of a setup began to terrorise me. As my stomach churned and my friends got nervous when they realised my bag had been out of my possession, the men in green looked like they were itching to nail someone. Fortunately I was able to wipe the sweat from my brow when they gave my bag the all clear.

And now, bottom, bottle and bag intact we were swinging lazily in our hammocks under the palm trees at Cabo beach in Tayrona National Park (just a short 2 hour stroll through the jungle and along some spectacular coastline to get there). Around us, people lay reading, kicked a soccer ball in a hearty game of football, played guitars on the sand, swam in the turqoise water or watched the ants dissect bread crumbs and carry leaves off to faraway places.

The relative silence was broken only by the sound of a large coconut falling from the tree. Narrowly missing a hammock owner it bounced at full speed off the ground and landed some metres away. Strike one in the game of death by coconut.

As the smell of grilled fish lured me to dinner I poured a drink, admired the sunset and wondered whether five luxurious days in paradise would be enough!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



11th September 2007

Budgie
Once again your stories are amazing and always entertaining. Looking forward to sharing a tent with you bop off buddy.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb