A month of traveling around Colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
January 12th 2018
Published: January 12th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Una lista de las ciudades para que fui en diciembre y el inicio enero, y mis impresiones de esas mismas: -

A list of the cities I went to during December and the start of January, and my impressions of them: -



· Medellín - gente amigable por una ciudad tan grande, buena transporte público, y muchas cosas para ver. Falta un buen museo. El hostal en donde quedé fue buena y la gente fue buena también, pero realmente no sentí como fui en Colombia. Quizá es porque he vivido en una casa en Popayán por 3 meses antes, y ahora, fui con mochileros. Después de este viaje, decidí de evitar los hostales cuando fue posible.



· Medellin – A city in the center of Colombia, and everyone was very friendly for such a big city, good public transport, and plenty of things to see, except a good museum! I stayed in a good hostel with fun people, but it didn’t feel very Colombian. This is probably because I’ve spent the last 3 months in a Colombian house with a Colombian family, and then I was with backpackers. After this part of the trip, I decided to try and Couchsurf, avoiding hostels as much as possible.



· Caucasia – Un pueblo en el camino de Medellín a Cartagena. La gente fue menos amigable, pero me guste los veces que fui! Hay una velocidad más lento de la vida y fue tan barato.



· Caucasia – A small town between Medellin and Cartagena. The people here were a little less friendly, but the town itself was very relaxed and quiet both times I was there. It’s very cheap here!



· Cartagena - Gente súper tranquila y amigable, el centro histórico es muy lindo, y hay muchas cosas para mirar en las faldas del ciudad también! Y hay playas!!! Más pequeña que Medellín, entonces es más fácil para navegar. El solo problema es la cuesta! La persona con quien quedé fue muy amigable, tranquilo sobre todo, y organizado. Tuve que enseñar inglés en un hostal cerca de su apartamento porque no tenía Wi-Fi y fue un poquito estresante.



· Cartagena – A big coastal city on the Atlantic coast of the country. Very relaxed and friendly people, the historical center is beautiful and there are lots of sites to see on the outskirts of the city too! Most importantly, there are a few beaches here, and they’re very nice. It’s smaller than Medellin, and therefore a little easier to traverse. The big problem here was the cost. The (Couchsurfing) guy I stayed with was really relaxed and friendly. The only difficulty was that there was no Wi-Fi, so I had a bit of disruption with some of my online students. It’s all a learning curve, I suppose!



· Puerto Colombia – Un pueblo en las faldas de Barranquilla fue mi lugar favorito de todo de Colombia aparte de Popayán! Súper tranquilo y seguro, es el verano eternal, barato, y la gente es muy relajada. El primero lugar afuera de Popayán en donde podría vivir. Quedé con una familia espectacular, y la fiesta del noche buena fue genial! Pasé la navidad en la hamaca, en la playa, y con la familia y sus visitantes.



· Puerto Colombia – This little town just outside Barranquilla was my favourite place in Colombia apart from Popayan. Really relaxed, safe, and very tropical weather. The people were very relaxed and friendly too. I could live there, and that’s in part due to the family I stayed with; they were welcoming, relaxed, and the Christmas eve party was a lot of fun! I spent Christmas in a hammock, at the beach, and with the family and their guests.



· Barranquilla - súper grande, pero no mala para navegar... Cuando sabes los buses! La gente es amigable pero habla tan rápida. Aprendí las jergas heche, fogaje, y vaina, y la gente de la costa es full orgullosa de su manera de hablar! Eres instantáneamente un amigo cuando hablas así. Quedé aquí para el año nuevo, y vi a un hombre disparando su pistola para saludar al primero de enero. Las fiestas, la música eterna, y la energía de Barranquilla muy agradé mucho, pero tuve menos que dos semanas más de tiempo para viajar, entonces 5 días fue suficiente para mirar a cómo será el carnaval en Febrero!



· Barranquilla – Located just a couple of hours from Cartagena, this is a very big coastal city, but not too bad to travel around, if you know the buses! The people here speak so fast that I struggled for a few days! I learned a lot of new slang in Spanish, and discovered how proud the people of the coast are of their way of speaking, and they love it when you manage to throw a few coastal slang words into your Spanish vocabulary! I was here as the year 2017 came to a close, and watched a guy in the street opposite firing his pistol into the air to celebrate New Year. I liked Barranquilla a lot; it’s a city with energy, non-stop music, and parties, but 5 days was enough of a taste of what the carnival will be like in February!



· Cartagena (centro) - Para mi segundo vez en Cartagena, no quise irme al parte turístico porque no siente como estás en la ciudad actual. Me fui para el centro y quedé con un hombre súper amigable cerca de nada turístico. William se llama él, y me derrotado tan fácilmente en unos juegos de ajedrez. Me dijo después que había jugado contra profesionales antes. Gracias por dígalo después, William! Mi tiempo ahí fue una buena experiencia, porque todo fue más barato y la gente tuvo menos inglés.



· Cartagena city center - I stayed outside the touristy part of Cartagena on my second visit, and stayed with a very interesting guy from Bogota who lives in Cartagena. He gave me the biggest hammering of my life on the chessboard, and then told me that he’d played a grandmaster in the past… Thanks for telling me after we played, William! The people of this part of the city didn’t speak much English with me, preferring to speak in Spanish, and everything was cheaper.



Después de mi segundo vez en Cartagena, sentí como había acabado de viajar con buena curiosidad y paciencia. Sentí más o menos que quisiera estar en la casa de mi mamá de Colombia. Pues, fui para Caucasia, quedé en un hotel, y luego fui para hogar! La cosa que hacer unos viajes especial es sin embargo la gente quien conoces, y este viaje de un mes no fue diferente. Mochileros, Venezolanos, gente amable de Couchsurfing, gente local de las ciudades, y gente en lo mismo bus que tú. Siempre te da amistad, conversación, y perspicacias sobre la linda cultura en que vivo!



After visit number two to Cartagena, my curiosity and patience was starting to flag. I wanted to be relaxing back in Popayan with my Colombian host family. So I went to Caucasia, stayed in a hotel, and then made for home the next morning! The thing that makes a special trip is, without a doubt, the people you meet. This month-long trip was no different. Backpackers, Venezuelans, very kind Couchsurfing hosts, local people, and people you’re sharing a bus with during the trip. You always receive friendship, conversation, and insights into the their amazing culture.



Una de mis momentos favoritos fue en el último bus del mes, el bus de Cali a Popayán! Después de una hora en viaje, el bus fue súper lleno y más gente subió. En Colombia, es común para una madre o abuela a pasar su hijo a ti, si estés sentando y no hay más asientos. Eso le oferte a ella, y su niña muy adorable de 3 años sentó en mis piernas por unas horas. Fue rara porque ella no tuvo miedo! Pasábamos la hora riendo por los ruidos que hicimos, preguntando un montón de preguntas sobre mí, y en el fin del viaje ella fue durmiendo tan profunda mientras abrazando mi estómago. A mí me encanto los niños (por un medio día, no para siempre aún) y fue la primera vez que había tenido interacción con un niño de esa edad por como un mes! Fui súper relajado cuando llegue a Popayán a pesar de la verdad que había en viaje por los dos días antes!



One of my favourite moments happened when I was on the last bus of the whole trip; a bus from Cali to Popayan. After an hour of the journey, the bus was full and more people were getting on. Here in Colombia, it’s common for a mother to give her child for a seated passenger to hold if there’s no room for her to sit down. I offered to take her 3 year-old child, and she ended up on my lap for the next hour or so. Strangely, she wasn’t scared of me at all, and she spent the rest of the trip giggling at farting noises, asking me a million questions about everything, and finally fell asleep cuddling my waist. It was completely adorable, and I hadn’t been around a child that age in a month, so I was very relaxed and happy when we arrived in Popayan, despite having been in transit for the last 2 days!



Antes del viaje, estaba pensando en seguir más dinero del trabajo en el internet y rendir de enseñar clases reales. Así pudiera viajar como he viajado en este mes, pero siempre! Cambiando países cuando quisiera. Después de este viaje, siento diferente, a mí me gusta la constancia de quedar en un lugar por aquellos meses que sirven para conocer amigos, seguir conocimiento sobre la cintura, y descansar a veces. Hay menos oportunidades por eso cuando cambias lugares cada semana, y casi ningún lugar siente como hogar. Con la verdadera excepción de Puerto Colombia! Después de una semana allá sentía como podría vivir y enseñar allá. Quizá voy a acabar con las clases en persona, pero no voy a cambiar lugares así cada semana... Es demasiado para mí!



Before the trip I was planning to try and get more money out of teaching online and therefore to be able to stop teaching classes in the classroom. This way, I could have traveled the way I recently traveled for a month; changing cities on a weekly basis, and countries whenever I fancied. After this trip, I no longer fancy that! I enjoy staying in one place for a longer period to the chaos and instability of being on the move constantly; I develop lasting friendships, gain more knowledge of the local culture, and rest from time to time. There are less opportunities to do these things when you’re changing places so regularly, with the exception of Puerto Colombia! I could really live and teach there! I may stop teaching classes in person in the future, but I don’t think that changing places so frequently is for me.



Ahora, tengo más o menos seis meses más en Colombia, y me voy a disfrutar cada día! Tengo suerte que mi compañía del internet me han dado comisiones para escribir artículos pare su página, y van a darme muy buena recompensa por esto también! Entonces mi dinero disponible va subir este mes, y será un ayudo súper bien, porque he estado sobreviviendo con muy poco dinero hasta ahora. Estoy acostumbrado de un poquito más! Espero que pueda ahorrar dinero en futuro, para más viajecitos así!





I’ve got 6 more months in Colombia, give or take, and I’m going to continue enjoying it! My internet company’s given me writing commissions for their website, and I’ll be paid well for each article I write. With more money, I can relax a little more; I’ve been living off a very small amount of money for the last 4 months despite being used to having a little more money! Hopefully I’ll be able to save a little money up for some more trips around Colombia during the next few months!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb