Fail; Part 2 - Santa Marta, Colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Santa Marta
April 8th 2016
Published: April 5th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Note to self - Do not try to book transport during a South American holiday week where no one has to go to work and the entire country is traveling.

So my plan was to book a night bus to San Gil which left me with an entire day to kill in Santa Marta. I did this the best way I know how, by finding a local tienda with a chair outside where I could sit in the sun and listen to the loud music emanating from the establishment. After about 1 hour or so the locals, curious as to why I was there, invited me to their table for a few drinks. These guys were great and they quickly shared all of their wares with me including Colombia's finest. Things were good.

Hours later and with no hope of sleeping on the night bus I took a taxi to the bus terminal hoping to get transport to San Gil. Immediately I was told that all of the buses are full and no seat will be available until Monday. So I am stuck in Santa Marta until then. Out of options and out of a place to stay I taxied back to the city center where as luck would have it I ran into Miguel from the tienda. He insisted that I stay at his mothers house, and who am I to turn down free accommodation? Miguel's mother was really nice and made me a huge dinner to which I could barely finish. Seconds were quickly served as she insisted I was too skinny. I powered through the meal and had a great nights sleep. In the morning I even got to take my first shower using only a bucket of water and a bowl to pour the water with. Fun stuff.

Long story short, I'm gonna be in Santa Marta a few more days. Tomorrow I'll take a daytrip to Minca which is a small city about an hour away that I've heard is really nice and then hopefully and finally a night bus to San Gil. Wish me luck.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MincaMinca
Minca

Church
Minca ViewMinca View
Minca View

Santa Marta all the way down there


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb