Ciao Colombia...Regresare alguna dia!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Popayan
September 22nd 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finally, I am flying solo!

So, after saying goodbye to Ariel, I hopped on a night bus to Popayan. Normally, I have been sleeping pretty well on these buses but, this time, I was sitting next to a Colombian teen who seemed to turn inquisitive only when I was asleep! Thus, I arrived in Popayan the next day on little sleep.

Popayan is a beautiful, white-washed colonial town with lots of universities. In fact, Popayan is the birthplace of more Colombian presidents than any other city! It also lays claim to being the birthplace of Caldas, who discovered the use of boiling temperatures in order to determine altitude. I walked around and enjoyed the city for most of the day but was getting seriously tired. I returned to my hostel to find it pretty dead for most of the night. At that point, I decided that the next day I would begin the long journey to Ecuador!

There were so many things that I was completely caught off guard by about Colombia. The genuine friendliness of the people, the variety of landscapes and climates, but, most of all, the overall safety I felt while traveling the country. Colombia has kept such a bad stereotype from its drug warfare past yet most of this perceived danger is not present today. I was only met with kindness and never once felt unsafe about myself or my belongings. Maybe it was just luck but I think it has more to do with Colombia´s progress as a nation.

With only 2.5 weeks, there is so much that I did not even get to do! Since flights from the states are so cheap, I am absolutely sure that I will return one day! My only question now is when will YOU??





Advertisement



22nd September 2009

Hola Ecuador!
Patricia and Consuela are very anxious to hear all about your travels to their home. I know they will enjoy the photos and stories. The world is an incredible place when you take the opportunity to open your mind and eyes to all its treasures. Soak all of its magnificence in and savor each and every morsel! lyl and happiest of happy new years.....Mom
22nd September 2009

I will be there someday soon my friend. I have really enjoyed your posts. Hope the trip continues to go well. P.S. It's "algún dia"
22nd September 2009

Grassy ass Kachach!
You know my spanish isn´t quite up to par all the time!
22nd September 2009

when will i....?
SOON!!!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0846s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb