EL PEÑOL- Guatape


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
October 23rd 2006
Published: October 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

HEY AIESEC!!!HEY AIESEC!!!HEY AIESEC!!!

proud to be an AIESEC trainee :)
I have been quite busy lately, going out a lot, hanging out a lot with my friends.. I try to keep myself busy and enjoy the time I have left here... I try not to waste one single weekend and go to as many touristy places as possible, but at the same time I try to keep up with my Spanish classes, my Writing Classes (a mandatory workshop offered by Eafit), at the same time write my blog and, in a nutshell, enjoy the remaining time with my friends.

Last weekend , as it was a Puente, I went with some friends to San Jeronimo and Santa Fe de Antioquia and it was a brilliant outing. It was so much fun, we did some sightseeing, had some traditional food in Santa Fe, visited some churches. We had a laugh crossing a wobbly ancient wooden bridge and looking down at the fast currents,thinking how we would perish in the deep, dirty water.

But today it was a million times better, as 17 of us went to El Peñol, in Guatape ,a minibus packed with trainees from Hong Kong, India, Germany, Ecuador, Holland, Switzerland, Sweden and of course, our sweet AIESEC members.

El Peñol is a huge rock which can be climbed as it has about 600 man-made steps . Climbing it is not easy at all and it took me about an hour (also due to my heart condition), but imagine the thrill of seeing me up there! It was truly worth it!! It offered a fantastic, mind-blowing view! I was in awe, the sky and the waters, the trees, everything in such perfect harmony, it looked and felt like paradise!

Going down was definitely easier than climbing up and we had another surprise coming! A guy with a snake wrapped all around him was posing and inviting us to touch , pet and take photos of the snake. We did that and Camilo, my Colombo-Swedish friend went even further, he put it on his shoulders. And why not? I did the same! Cool!Honestly, I wasn't scared at all, as everybody was petting it like a baby or a regular pet, I guess they mast have taken out ( or at least I hoped so! 😊)) somehow the venom so I was pretty relaxed when the owner put it on my shoulders. And it didn't even weigh very much!! Mom, that's a photo you won't get to see, for sure! 😊)

Afterwards we went and had lunch in MI CASA, a typical restaurant on the shore of the lake with reasonable prices and lots of pescado- seafood dishes. Next we went to a monastery we visited for a while and a museum, a tiny three-room museum with ancient objects, from ancient irons and typing machines, to medical equipment, all ancient and dusty, a nice reminder of old times. Although it was written on a piece of paper NO TOCAR, everybody felt free to touch whatever, to hold and feel. And nobody told us off either 😊).

I didn't know a ride on a boat was also on the schedule, so I was really happy when the bus stopped on the shore of the lake and there was a boat waiting for us. We went upstairs and started dancing on some strange music, I couldn't really put my finger on what it was- salsa, merenge..??... but we danced anyway, trying to improve our latinlike steps.

It got really dark, the sun set and we had to head back home. The drive home was by far
going up...going up...going up...

not a piece of cake, that´s for sure!!
one of the best moments of the day, the entire hour back home Anton and Caro sang songs, the atmosphere was simply amazing and we tried to keep up with some of the lyrics we knew, from the Beatles, Bee Gees, to Colombian school songs... great!! Ok, that's all for today, I came to an Internet cafe to post this entry as soon as I got home.Thank God for 24/7 Internet Cafes! 2000 pesos an hour, which is pretty pricey, but it's totally worth it... I mean, I don't know...you tell me! 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Caro and ICaro and I
Caro and I

on the top of the rock El Peñon. Beautiful landscape!!
HEY AIESEC!! HEY AIESEC!!
HEY AIESEC!!

SAY WHISKY!!!!!!
me and a friend :))me and a friend :))
me and a friend :))

no comment :P
me and a friend :))me and a friend :))
me and a friend :))

no comment :P
the chicksthe chicks
the chicks

in the monastery
paintingpainting
painting

not quite a painting, this was hand-made, every little tiny piece of the work was put there by a very pacient monk. It must have taken ages to finish it!
monasterymonastery
monastery

The monks make and sell crosses, icons, bibles, honey and fruit jam and marmelade. They never leave the monastery, they spend their entire lives here, working and praying.
tiny museum in Guatapetiny museum in Guatape
tiny museum in Guatape

ancient typing machines! Thank God for computers! I would definitely hurt every single finger typing on those things!!


23rd October 2006

great pictures! sounds like a great trip... making all the poor guys at home envious.... but you deserve it, so enjoy it :-) kisses!
12th March 2007

santa fe
I also have been to santa fe -- 2 weeks ago I was in La Ceja -- and went to mass where the monks were -- and there were more horses tied up outside the church than cars!! La Ceja is a typical rural Colombian town up in the mountains outside of Medellin - about 25km from Renegro.. Larry -- larry@rn.org

Tot: 0.352s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb