Medellin


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
February 17th 2015
Published: February 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post

After the lost city trek I went to Carnaval de Barranquilla which is the second biggest carnival in South America, only behnd Rio. I went there with a couple of the girls from the lost city trek, we had a great time partying with all the locals but I didn't take any photos there unfortunately as I didn't take my camera out. For that reason I'm skipping to my next stop, Medellin.

Medellin is the most modern city in Colombia and it is a really cool city, I went on a walking tour where we saw some places around the city with a guide who told us all about the history of the place. The city has an incredible story as it has recovered from times of extreme violence in the time of Pablo Escobar to become a very modern and safe place to visit. My pictures are from that tour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

IMG_4939IMG_4939
IMG_4939

The Botero statue on left was blown up in 1995 killing 30 people, several groups claimed responsibility but it has never been proven who did it. When the mayor was going to remove the statue, Fernando Botero himself called him up to ensure it stayed there as a memorial and another dove statue was built next to it to symbolise hope.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb