Medellin


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
April 2nd 2013
Published: April 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


April 2nd I took a trip to Medellin, Antioquia, the second largest city of Colombia (3.5 million people). Just 20 years ago, this city was the largest drug trafficking region in the world. Home to the infamous Pablo Escobar, cartels practically ruled the city. However, today, Medellin is one of the most modern, developed cities in Colombia. It is home to some of the largest businesses in Colombia such as Exito, and Bancolombia. It also is the only city in Colombia with a metro. I had the opportunity to stay with one of my exchange friends in medellin for a week.

The first thing I noticed upon arrival was that the city was located in the middle of a "bowl" of mountains. From the edges of the city, you could see the entire downtown. It made for some great photo opportunities (for those who are friends with me on facebook, I have already uploaded photos. I'm working on adding them to the blog!). The next thing I noticed was that compared to the rest of Colombia (Bogotá, Cali, Cartagena, etc.) the buildings and streets were more modern and clean. The city had a personality completely independent from the rest of the country.

Although Medellin doesn't have a bunch of "touristy" locations, there were plenty of things to do during the week. I went with my friends host-cousin to some botanical gardens, and other small historical cites. I also went out with him to a local party. The party only highlighted the differences between Medellin and the rest of colombia. The styles of music were completely different. Instead of dancing to Salsa, Merengue, and Bachata, they danced more Electronic and Reggaeton. They also knew how to dance Vallenato, but it was never played. The people from Medellin, known as Paisas, are known for not dancing as well as those from Cali, Bogotá, or the coast.

Now that I am back in Cali, I am preparing for my next trip. On Friday (the 19th) I will be taking a trip to the Amazon! New entry coming soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb