San Pedro de Tipisca, living with an indigenous community


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Leticia
September 19th 2013
Published: September 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca

Tour guide Polo dropping me off to the community with my backpack, inside it a bag of rice, salt, sugar, and cooking oil as gifts for my host family
I was lucky enough to spend 2 days living with the indigenous community of San Pedro de Tipisca, 3 hours boat ride from Puerto Narino. The community of San Pedro de Tipisca has about 30 houses, 1 school, 3 teachers for 90 students of all ages, 1 church, and zero clinic. The native language is Ticuna and is the last Colombian community before reaching the neighboring Peru along the Amazon River. I stayed with the family of Nixon Macedo (Nixon, his wife, and 3 daughters ages 2, 6, and 12). They asked why did I choose to come to their small village. I told them I wanted to observe and learn about their culture and ways of livings.

In the morning, I went to bathe by the river bank with the kids. While the kids are gone to school, I hung out by the kitchen (a communal place for everyone in the family to come hang out) to talk and watch the women do their cooking. They always asked about my family and Vietnam. They wanted to see photo of my parents and brothers so I showed them the pictures I had on my iPhone. In the afternoon, I go
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca

Nixon's wife (my host mom) who always asked what I would like to eat for the day. My options are narrowed down to chicken or fish.
fishing with all the kids. At night, I slept on the floor with their 2 daughters Leila and Nicole while Nixon, his wife, and 2 years old daughters slept on the bed inside their tiny house on stilt the size of my master bathroom. They have electricity between 7 to 9 p.m. so I was able to charge my camera and watch cartoon or movies with the kids.

By the end of my 2 days, I was ready to leave. Despite the religious application of my American bought "40% Deets Deep Wood" mosquito and bug repellant, I still managed to acquire bites all over my body. I'm constantly scratching the itch away, up until now. Although I could have probably toughed it out and lived there longer; I really did not want to. I have had my share of fried fish and plantain that the though of eating more fish and fried plantain makes me nauseated. Next time, I will bring stronger repellant (maybe 100% deets) and Nixon's mom promised to teach me some artisan skills.

Although my photos do not nearly describe my experience living with the family, they give you a general idea of what life
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca

sawing the fruit in half to make 2 bowls
is like for the people in this community. Their life revolves around the land and the river. Respect mother earth! She will provide every time and all the time. Sometimes we get carried away by living in such a highly civilized and technologically advance society that we forget who we truly are as humans. We are wild!


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

The girls gutting the inside of fruit to make bowls
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

Naughty 4 years old boy who always tried to impress me by climbing on trees and dancing, then said to me "SeƱora, look at me!"
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

13 years old Fe Esperanza. She has a pretty name to match that beautiful smile.
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

Guess what's for lunch?
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

The family kitchen where the women take turn to cook for the whole extended family.
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

Nixon's mom gave him some salted fish so we had it for breakfast with sweetened lemongrass tea.
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

The family gave me the biggest piece of fish while they ate the smaller ones.
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

Nixon's wife's sister and her baby
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

The girls hanging out on the kitchen floor
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

The hammock beats sleeping on the floor at night.
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

Funky looking fish. I'm not sure if I want to eat that.
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

He's always picking up the fish and throwing them around like toys.
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

The woman took the knife, beat the fish in the head with it, and threw it onto the grill. Fish grill Amazon style!
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

She would not let me get close to her.
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

Guess what we're having for lunch?
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

This is to burn off all the feather
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

Leila and her morning bath. Although I love and respect the Amazon, I really do not miss bathing in this water.
San Pedro de TispiscaSan Pedro de Tispisca
San Pedro de Tispisca

Nixon's daughter Nicole


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb