The Best job in the World.


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
February 20th 2009
Published: February 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Best Job in the World



Starting work every morning at 06:30 or 07:30 and then working non stop till midnight might sound like hell. Well it is, but luckily I live in paradise! I woke up this morning, slightly hung-over, but nothing out of the ordinary and experienced the most amazing view! The Serenade of the Seas was leaving St John’s Antigua and the most amazing sunrise was our wake up call!

My adventure started over 2 weeks ago in Fort Lauderdale. After waiting at the passport control for close to 3 hours as all crew need to have background check done when you enter the US I was dropped off at a hotel with some fellow crew mates! A good dinner and a couple of beers later, and I was already making friends with my new crew mates!

Checking in to MV SILVER SHADOW was a scary but exciting experience... going straight into the belly of the ship. After signing all the paperwork and saying good bye to my passport for the next six months and receiving my crew card I was brought to my cabin (pics still on their way!). I picked up my uniforms.... the small closet I received for my cloths is 90%!f(MISSING)ull of uniforms. I have 6 different uniforms! ( only my formal uniform attached!)

Our ship was chartered by ITC Sports (Sports travel Agency) for the full 17 days and we had the Barmy Army (English cricket Supporters) on board. Due to the really hit weather in London at the time most of our guests were delayed as they could not leave London. Leaving 2 days later then planned, we were heading to Kingston, Jamaica for the first Test match between England and The West Indies. We spent only 3 days in Kingston as England lost the first test very quickly!

From there we headed to St John’s Antigua, stopping in Ocho Rios, Jamaica and in San Juan, Puerto Rico and Gustavia, Saint Barths. Unfortunately I was working the entire day when we were in Gustavia, so I did not get to experience St Barths, but I did enjoy cocktails at Margaritaville in Ocho Rios and shopping in San Juan.

St John’s is a very small town that thrives on the cruise ships that dock every day here in the summer. Here we basically only worked and waited for the cruise to finish, as 2 days ago our cricket fans left and our normal cruisers arrived. To be honest, I prefer the cricket fans, they are not stuck up and not everyone on board is on pension already! But this is only the second day that we have had our regular guests on board, so I guess it is just getting used to!

I will update everyone as much as I can, but the internet on board is expensive and extremely slow, so please bear with me! Please leave comments, and if that’s too complicated the write on my wall or something on Facebook!!


Till the next time, The Sailing Dutchman!


Advertisement



21st February 2009

Wow
Hi, Dad and I realy enjoyed your latest blog entry. Keep it up, if all else fails, you can always become a travel writer. You write realy good stuff. I can actually see it for myself and enjoyed it. have fun and keep the news coming, We are a bit jealous and miss the carribian
22nd February 2009

roeland!!!!
haaaaay roeland leuk om te lezen dat je het naar je zin hebt en wat een mooie foto van dat uitzicht met de zonsopgang... leuk hoor. ik heb je net misgelopen ben namelijk net een week terug maar wil je toch nog even veel plezier wensen! en ik hou je blog wel bij. laat je niet gek maken. en veel succes met elke dag vroeg opstaan hahaha. kus roos!!!!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb