Sailing the High Seas - Panama to Columbia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
June 27th 2008
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Panama to Columbia

There is no roads between Panama and Columbia(South America). So the only way to get there is to fly or a very few who want a little more adventure decide to sail over to Cartagena, Columbia. Its a 5 day sail. Five of us plus the captain. The first couple days jumping around islands in the San Blas coast of Panama and then 48+ hour sail to Cartagena. The First couple days where good. The sail from the San Blas to Cartagena is a different story. Large waves and a small boat does not work with me. 48hours of being tossed around a boat did wonders to my digestive system. I had a very cleansing few days. Also I could not sleep during any of that crossing. We where all glad to get to Cartagena and stand on solid ground, our bodies where still rocking back and forth for a few more days.

All is well

Tim



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

My Nice Sun Burn My Nice Sun Burn
My Nice Sun Burn

Looks worse then it was.
My fellow crewMy fellow crew
My fellow crew

Back: Anna and Sang Front: Natalie and Ryan
Our BoatOur Boat
Our Boat

40ft Sailboat - sleeps 7
Immagration leaving PanamaImmagration leaving Panama
Immagration leaving Panama

On a island in the San Blas
Its My Birthday!Its My Birthday!
Its My Birthday!

Birthday at sea.


15th September 2009

hey buddy, what is the name of the company that took you sailing, the costs and so on....cheers
25th April 2010

You're nuts!
You guys are nuts. Too adventurous for me. My idea of adventure is driving in Atlanta at rush hour in my Malibu. -air conditioned-- leather seats-- you know- all the trappings of civilization. "Cute" little 40 footer, tho, --- it would do well in the Great Lakes, I am sure. NOT THE OCEAN!!!!!!!!! I am a Spanish teacher and we are studying Molas-- artwork from the Kuna Indians. But I am sure you know what I am talking about. I am going to show these photos to my students. Good thing we have some people that are willing to venture out-- gives me stuff to talk about! ¡Gracias!
21st February 2011

Hitchin a ride...
Wondering if anyone has any info on hopping a board a sail boat, possibly swap a helping hand for a free ride from Panama to Columbia. Any word of mouth, websites whatever, it all helps!
21st February 2011

Hitchin a ride...
Wondering if anyone has any info on hopping a board a sail boat, possibly swap a helping hand for a free ride from Panama to Columbia. Any word of mouth, websites whatever, it all helps!

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 25; qc: 127; dbt: 0.1062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb