31 Hours and 3300 Miles Later


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
February 25th 2016
Published: March 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

All of my blog posts are from start to finish on my RTW: Feb. 2012 - June 2013

Wow. What a long, long journey to finally make it to Colombia. I flew out one way from Phoenix via AeroMexico bound for Bogota ($380). First stop was Hermosillo, Mexico. No problem. One hour layover and I was off to Mexico City. This is where the fun or lack thereof began. I arrived to the Terminal maybe around 9pm. My flight to Bogota did not leave until 6pm the next day. 21 hour layover. I got to know the Benito Juarez airport really well. I was to cheap to spring for a hotel so I slept on the marble tile floor with my bag chained to me. My back still hurts. Up early the next day I did nothing but try and pass the time on the Internet and by trying to speak Spanish. I fail on the latter.

Finally airborne it was a simple 4 1/2 hour flight to Bogota. I had great anxiety as I had no proof of onward travel. Typically on a one way ticket you need to show this in order to board the plane, but I had no issue. No one even asked to see the flight itinerary I had rigged in case I was asked. Immigration was a breeze and a taxi to my hostel was no problem. I am staying at Chapinorte Hostal in Zona Rosa ($19). A nice part of town. So far I am very pleased.

Once I got to my room last night, no chance I was going to explore. I needed sleep and got it. I awoke and met a Brazilian guy from Rio named Erique. He's a great guy and we decided to sight see together. We took the Transmilenio Bus to La Candaleria. I was really pleased with my skills to navigate the public transport here after only one day. I've mastered it, and the Transmilenio is of good value at only $1 each way.

We started at Monserrate which is a Church at the top of a mountain overlooking Bogota. The views were amazing and it struck me of both how large and sprawling the city is, and also how green the forests and mountains here are. We then went to the Botero Museum which is a collection of works from the Colombian Artist Fernando Botero. He has a very distinct style of painting and sculpting fat people. It was great. We also went to La Plaza de Bolivar. A very open square with a huge Cathedral and lots of pigeons. Very pretty and a nice spot to relax. The day was finished with a couple of pints and the bus ride back. I am now in my hostel with a six-pack of Aguila beer that cost me $4. Colombia is sweet!

First impressions of Bogota are that it is a very progressive, chic, and SAFE city. No problems at call. La Policia are everywhere and never have I been uncomfortable. Also the women here are super fashionable. The shoes they wear are incredible and it's not a girl here or there, it is all of them. Stilettos on cobblestone streets. That's serious talent. Also all the kids here have their faces pierced and they make out everywhere. On the bus, in the bar, cafe, on the street - everywhere. No shame either. Tomorrow I'm of to the Salt Cathedral that is in the mountains outside of Bogota.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb