A not so warm welcome


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
November 26th 2010
Published: November 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I am in the capital of Colombia-Bogota.

So far it seems to be a pretty dynamic place and I am looking forward to exploring further. I have been trying to organise some Spanish lessons and have been in contact with my friends from here, Julie Danielle and Tina. Tina invited me to her house and to see the city with her which should be great. I really like her bubbly nature and sence of humour.

I left Solento last night with the feeling that enough is enough. The nature and calm was awesome for a bit but after three nights it was time to go. Such a beautiful place though.

I had trouble getting money out of the one atm in the central Plaza of Salento so had to catch a bus to a nearby town where I could get some cash. For a few hours I thought I wouldn't be able to leave the place. Luckily someone was able to direct me in the end.

Hanging out with my two new friends from Switzerland on my last night in Salento was really fun. Ronnie had left by this stage. We had pizza and brownies for dinner, noting it was thanksgiving so we were aloud to have a bit of a treat.

Then I caughta one hour bus to Armenia before catching a nine hour bus to Bogota. I am with two Aussie guys from Melbourne-Tom and Matt who departed Salento at the same time as me . They are really nice and we are now in the same Hostel in Bogota, it is good to have some home grown company. We have already met some characters in this city. A few beggers, a couple of prostitutes, a handful of drug addicts and a lady who abused us when we got out of the taxi. We were near many hostels so decided to get out and ask around rather than drive from one to the other. The lady came home from a walk and unbeknown to us the door behind our luggage was hers. She told us to get it out the way or she would call the police. She also said the only reason we come to South America is to take drugs and sleep with girls. Was really not a very nice welcome but a sleep and lunch has made the place look much better. We have already been invited to the theatre tonight by a drama lecturer from Argentina named Jim so that is very exciting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb