Another day in Paradise...


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
November 23rd 2010
Published: November 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It was a pretty weird day... Early start as usual with the intention of going to Soacha. The bus ride was ok but arrived with a bit of a headache. As the day progressed (was teaching 1 class the christmas song) the headache got worse until it was borderline migraine. I decided to leave a little early and headed back to find the bus for my 2 hour ride back into town. The whole bus ride was slipping in and out of sleep with bizarre dreams. The weather that day was beautiful so I thought a bit of a walk would do me good. I got out a bit earlier than necessary (2 km before home) and headed off. Not 5 minutes after I got off the bus it started raining. I decided to wait next to a shop and perhaps it would pass after a few minutes. No chance... it alternated between really bad to borderline catastrophe. After trying to wait it out for 35 minutes, I made a run for it. Every part of my clothing got absolutely soaked several times over. People were trying to cross streets which seem to have become rivers with currents reaching mid shin high. Despite the obstacles, most people were smiling trying to make their way through. I admit I was too simply at the absurdity of the weather. Its like nothing I've ever seen. I got home pretty tired and in a bad mood still with a headache.

That night, I felt hotter than I've ever felt. My face and ears were burning even though I had no fever. I then felt freezing cold despite wearing 3 layers of clothing. During the night I woke up once an hour from bizarre dreams in a cold sweat. I thought it might be because of my swim home but it didnt feel like the flu

Morning, I was absolutely normal.. I'm told this could be the malaria medication as it has a reputation for giving strange symptoms. Better this than malaria.

What a day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb