First Day


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
November 14th 2010
Published: November 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As mentioned in the previous post, I got up pretty early from the jetlag. Around 10am when the house had woken up, I was given the orientation which included all the info that was not mentioned in the brochure. Nothing too crazy but the reality is certainly never exactly like the theory. There are some pretty crazy activities like going on a hot chocolate and home made bread driveby delivery (distributions) in the worst parts of the city. I'm told it relatively safe since you're in the car the whole time but you see some things which might be disturbing. I look forward to doing it and to applying myself generally when the week begins.

In the afternoon, I went out with some of the other volunteer girls to the weekly market. I can honestly say it is the best flea market I have ever been to and its fairly cheap. Still getting used to the value of the currency and I have so far either ended up going out with less money than I needed or too much. Most things here are pretty cheap relatively speaking so money goes a long way.
All of the volunteers are really nice so far and I look forward to getting to know them better in the time that they are here (some come for very short periods, some are veterans). I will need to arrange for some language tutoring in the next couple of days as I really dislike not being able to communicate in spanish. My current learning resources have failed me.
The weather is a little chilly and it rains lightly occasionally but I really like it. I'm told its pretty polluted here but it's hard to tell with the freshness from the rain.

Not sure how the rest of the evening is going to be but in any case, I won't be blogging this frequently once I get settled in. In the mean time, enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Fire jugglersFire jugglers
Fire jugglers

They jump out in front of cars when the traffic light is red and do a quick show for money... very impressive!


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb