Easy Like Sunday Morning


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
January 2nd 2009
Published: January 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

What an easy, relaxing day. so I woke up this morning and ate some breakfast with Diego, and then had nothing to do until about 2. This was actually good because I finally got the rest of my journal entries on the travel blog. I also bought the rest of White Ladder by David Gray on iTunes (why didn't I do this earlier?). Diego was getting his hair cut during all of this, so when he was finished we went to El Corral for lunch. I had a Colombian style burger; it was topped with a fried egg and sauteed onions. I didn't really eat the onions, but the burger was good. However, I don't know what all the fuss was about. It wasn't the best burger I had ever eaten. They're all over Bogota though (even with gourmet versions). I did approve of the fries though.

After lunch, we picked up Monica and went to Gran Usaquen, a quasi-historical district that used to be its own town before Bogota gobbled it up like a piece of cake. There was a mall that used to be a mansion of some really rich man, and it has this great indoor/outdoor atmosphere going on. I tired some jeans on in the mall, but just decided that my money would be better spent somewhere else. I did get another gift though. We walked over to a park which used to be the town plaza, and tooled around a bit before heading to another mall near by. One the way we stopped by a book store for Diego, and I perused prints from famous artists while He skimmed a graphic design textbook he was somewhat debating about buying. At the other mall, Diego and Monica were hellbent on me finding some jeans, so we looked in a store and I politely said no thanks to the clerk.

We started heading back to the park with the sun setting and stopped at a Juan Valdez to let the yellow-orange disk sink beneath the horizon. I ordered my own coffee! A tinto compesino and a chocolate chip cookie too. I feel like the barista must have over heard us arguing about if I would do it, and thus knew what I was going to order before I even utter the unintelligible words. Nonetheless, I felt accomplished, and it was delicious; black coffee is really growing on me. Finally, at the park we walked around a bit and I finally took some pictures of the amazing Christmas lights they do in Bogota. We slowly meandered our way back to the car, and crept through traffic dropping Monica off on the way home. Now we have a lazy night ahead of us, and I'm off to watch another movie with Diego.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb