Oh, the little comforts...


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
January 23rd 2008
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bienvenido!

Just a quick update tonight before I go to bed.

Welcome and thanks to Chrissy and Adam. I'm so glad that you found my blog, and are actually taking the time to read it! I wonder sometimes if I have anything interesting to say, so its very encouraging to hear positive feedback. Thanks so much for the thoughts, well wishes and most importantly, thanks for the prayers. It's what I need the most.

This last week has really seen me become not just comfortable with my new home, but actually pretty peaceful also. It was a rough going for awhile. When we did get into our apartment, we didn't have water for a few days. Then, we didn't have enough furniture. I slept on the most uncomfortable couch you can imagine for almost two weeks. You can imagine my surprise and gratitude when I came home a few days ago to find a comfy full size bed waiting for me. I didn't have sheets or linen, but at this point who cares! It's a bed! Oh wow....when's the last time you saw a grown man tearing up at the sight of a lumpy Colombian mattress? Well, you would've seen it here. Such a small thing, but such an amazing gift from God. The world looks so much better after a good nights rest.

We finally got a fridge also! It showed up one day when we came home from school. (School has keys to our apartment...it's not like they magically appeared...but in a way...they did) We actually have groceries! Honest to goodness groceries. Not street food. Not day old 500 peso empanadas. But real food....and cold orange juice! How great it felt to have these basic necessities. We set up a laptop, played episodes of the 'Office', I made grilled cheese sandwiches for me and my roommates, and feasted our first meal in the apartment. Ah....the comforts of home.

For the football playoffs, we had a number of teachers and students over to the place. We were given another gift....a projector! It's really nice...a missionary brought it down, and we are using it for awhile. Hook up a laptop, and we have movies across the entire wall! More importantly, we streamed the football games off of the internet, and saw both AFC and NFC championships! What a slice of home. Seeing American commercials was magical, and the entire room started salivating and whooping when Taco Bell commercials came on. (Admit it....who doesn't love the Bell?) We brought out all of our instruments, had a jam session and every time the Packers scored we had an elaborate celebration song and dance. So much fun...until Favre threw the ball away and the Pack lost on a OT field goal. Still, it was a great night of friendship, fellowship and football!

The school is going on a big retreat this weekend. Most everyone is going up to this flooded dam in the mountains. It's a popular weekend destination, and supposedly a great deal of fun. Problem is, its over 140,000 Pesos to go. That's roughly $70 U.S. dollars. I just don't have that kind of money to spend, so I'm not going. A few other teachers are in the same position. We bellyached and moaned about it all day, and decided than since we don't have the cash, we should at least do something fun for ourselves. So after school we packed up and went to the movies. I finally got to see "I Am Legend". It was in English, subtitled in Spanish.....Amazing! What a great flick. I was on the edge of my seat, and even though a lot of it had been spoiled for me, it still surprised and shocked me. Man! What a fun film to watch. Best part, it was discount day, and I got in for only 6000 pesos. (about $3 bucks). We had nine teachers going, and some of the students wanted to go with. (the teacher/student dynamic down here is a little strange. We hang out with our students in and out of class. Since we are one big Christian community, its more like we are big brothers and sisters, instead of teachers) Well, most of my students are poor and couldn't afford a ticket. As teachers, we 'sponsored' a couple kids. I paid for two additional tickets, and a whole crew of us went in to see the movie. It was like a big family. Besides the satisfaction of having these kids see a movie (which is a rare treat for them), I was invited to two dinners....certainly enough to pay back my small investment. For dinner, we ditched our kids and just the teachers went to this place called 'Crepes and Waffles'. It's a restaurant that hires only single mothers, and pays them a decent wage....while still keeping the prices low. I had some of the best food so far in Colombia,and the bill for six of us didn't break $17 dollars U.S. I may not have been able to go to the mountain lake this weekend, but instead I spent quality time with my kids and friends, had a great meal and a better time....for fraction of the price.

Everything else is going considerably well down here. Still, school is the easiest part of this trip, but I'm getting asked to do more and more. I've now had to take on some school administration duties which I'm not happy about. I've had to work out some logistical teaching problems, show others how to effectively set up lesson plans and I've been given the Yearbook to finish. The yearbook itself takes up most of my time, but it is fun and an honor. Plus it gives me a chance to work with the Seniors on a much closer level. I also am trying to set up one of my better Seniors with Judson University, and the possibility of a 'International' and a sports scholarship. If this goes through, it will be an incredible blessing for her and her family. They don't have the money to send her to the states for school, but I might be able to pull some strings. I'd love to see someone so deserving get a chance of a lifetime.

I'm sorry this update didn't have much to do with Colombia and new explorations....its just a small look at what goes on in this community of ours. So much love, so much commitment to each other and a true sense of working together for God's glory. I learned this much....Family isn't just what your born into...its the connections and bonds you form with those around you...and...small comforts make the world of difference.

I'm off to bed. My mile hike to the bus in the morning is a hard way to start the day, and 530am comes mighty quick.

God's love and blessings to you all.

jz

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb