Colombian immigrant here to help other travelers/ expats


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Barranquilla
April 23rd 2016
Published: April 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Hello! As my bio says, I'm a north American living in Colombia. My purpose for this blog is to help travelers coming to Colombia to know what they're getting in to, answer questions, give advice, etc as well as document some things for myself.

First things first: how to move to Colombia.

It's actually pretty easy. With just a passport you can stay here for three months; when you come in tell immigration at the airport that you're just visiting. After that three months, you can go to immigration and give them some information and easily get an additional three months. During those free six months, work on your Spanish if you need to (I came with extremely elementary Spanish- i.e. one semester of Spanish at my university- and after slightly more that three months here I'm doing well enough to get along on my own) and find employment. When you've got a job secured, have your company fill out some forms for you so you can get a visa and you're pretty much set!

Here are some places you might want to look into for a job:

http://www.colomboamericano.org/index.php/en/who-we-are/work-with-us

http://www.goabroad.com/providers/instituto-de-idiomas-universidad-del-norte/programs/teach-at-universidad-del-norte-colombia-9319

co.jobomas.com for a search engine

There are plenty more out there but here's a little something to get you started.

Here is a very cool website where you can see Colombia's cost of living and compare it to your country: http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/country_result.jsp?country=Colombia

I've just found this website for keeping a blog, but before I was using Tumblr. If you want more info about the moving process, facts about Colombia, etc to start off with check out https://www.tumblr.com/blog/nosoycolombiana

When I decided to move here I could barely find any blogs about North American/ English people moving here, so I hope to be of help to someone out there!!



Buenas!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb