One month in, still melting


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Barranquilla
November 27th 2006
Published: December 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post


1. English first
2. Español abajo


Hola from Barranquilla

Welcome to my first update from Colombia. For those of you who haven’t heard from me and are probably thinking “weren’t you in Asia??”, I have been living in Barranquilla, Colombia, for the last month and a half. I hadn’t seen my girlfriend Rochy since she finished her job in Leeds last June, so coming here to be with her was my first priority after getting back from my travels around Asia with Indie. Besides, I am not starting work til March, so why not chill out in the tropics for a couple months?

My experience here so far has brought me to meet a wide range of Rochy’s family and friends, ranging from the much-anticipated ‘Meet the Parents’ scenario to going out drinking and dancing with her cousins.

I wanted to do something different while I am here, so I decided to try out teaching. A couple weeks back I was offered a substitute teacher position in a private bilingual school in Rochy’s neighborhood in Northern Barranquilla. They invited me to an induction day a week ago, to get a feel for the classes etc, but so far I haven’t started teaching classes yet. On the side, I have been teaching English and Maths to Rochy’s eight-year-old cousin, who goes to a bilingual school and therefore has the attached US accent - she’s getting to grips with British English!


So, Colombia, eh?

If you have been here in Colombia before, you will understand what I am about to write. If you have been living in Barranquilla before, you will be smiling and nodding to yourself. If you haven’t done either of the above, cast aside your stereotypes of cocaine-addled gangsters, Shakira-style dancing and coffee, and read on….

Colombian people are of all colours. There is no Brit- or US-style ethnic categorization here. The terms ‘black’, ‘white’, and ‘mixed race’ don’t strictly apply here. What’s more, people are remarkably direct when it comes to communicating. They call a spade a spade, as they say. People who are thin are commonly, often affectionately, referred to as “flaco”, even if you have never met them before. I have seen educated and open-minded people say to a man with Afro-Colombian features “oye negro!”. However, there is no racist slant to this. I mention it because it is totally unlike what I am used to. Taxi drivers and other people call me ‘mono’ because that’s how light-skinned or light-haired people are known here in the coast. That’s not the only thing I have been called. Also on the list are:

“Highlander!”, “ingles!”, “Scotland Yard!”, “Wallace!” and “William Wallace!”

Barranquilla is one of Colombia’s major cities, and is the capital of the Northern Atlántico region. It’s also colourful, loud and - compared to Europe - disorganized. People are brash, exuberant and friendly, and this reflects the traditional music of the coast - cumbia.


Family, fruit and fish

Colombian culture seems considerably more family-orientated than any culture I have experienced in Europe. Rochy’s extended family are quite close, and they spend a lot of time together. We greatly enjoy looking after her wee niece, who recently turned one year old. Check out some of the attached photos, which clearly illustrate the wide range of her family members, in both colour and age!

The fruit here is visually striking and delicious - every day we make a juice of some sort. They have the usual stuff you’d expect from a tropical climate - oranges, mandarins, bananas, passion fruit, limes etc…. But there are other crazy fruits like lulo, níspero, zapote, curuba and borojo, which make vivid, tasty juices. I thought I might get sick of so much fruit by now - not a chance!

The fish is also wonderful. We have eaten freshly cooked fish at the beach and on the banks of the Magdalena river, and it has never disappointed. One day we headed to a nearby beach, where you park your car and have a cabin with hammock etc on the beach front. A guy immediately approaches you carrying a big platter of raw, intact fish so that you can choose which one you want for your lunch. I really fancied eating something like trout which has omega-3 oils, cos I used to eat that kind of fish regularly. So I ask the guy “which of these fish is rich in omega-3?”. He gives me these weird look and says “eh?!?” before looking in hope at a Colombian person who can translate the obscure requests of this stupid foreigner!

More news coming soon. Let me know what’s going on in your life.






De ahora en adelante en esa entrada….. puro español!

Bueno, lo primero q verás es que esa parte no es una traducción de lo que acabo de comentar en inglés. En cambio, ustedes - los hispanohablantes - están enterados de otros detalles de mi vida aquí…. vamos!


turismo

Hasta ahora no hemos viajado tanto como nos hubiera gustado, sin embargo hemos conocido dos de los sitios de mas interés que tiene Colombia. Mi primera semana aquí fuimos a la isla de San Andrés, un exótico lugar en el medio del mar Caribe. Allá estuvimos en un hotel tipo todo incluido entonces los dos pegamos un atracón! Además de comer, beber, y tomar el sol, conocimos la isla de Aquarium, donde careteamos (snorkelling) y resistimos las ofertas de mil y un vendedores. Probamos el rico pescado caribeño, hicimos kayaking y nos bañamos en el mar con diversos peces de todos colores. En fin, le sacamos el jugo al hotel y pasamos un rato muy agradable en San Andrés.

Otro fin de semana fuimos con la prima de Rochy, Mile, y su novio Andrés, al parque nacional de Tayrona. Allá nos encontramos con otros amigos de Rochy y
Tayrona National ParkTayrona National ParkTayrona National Park

a majestic place
pasamos unos días deliciosos disfrutando de las atracciones naturales de uno de los lugares más conocidos de Colombia. Caminamos mucho, dormimos en hamacas y comimos ‘arepa de huevo’ (el mío vino acompañado con una pequeña hormiga cocinada adentro… mmmmm, proteína!). A pesar de lo duro que nos dieron la lluvia y los mosquitos, me gustó mucho hacer un poco de ‘ecoturismo’ allá.



vida cotidiana en Barranquilla

Me ha conmovido bastante lo cálida que es la gente colombiana, sobre todo aquí en la costa. La familia de Rochy es muy diversa y todos se dedican a trabajos diferentes, sin embargo todos hacen el esfuerzo de pasar tiempo juntos y aportar a los demás con todo lo que puedan. Se me hace un elemento muy positivo de la cultura colombiana, y de hecho me parece diferente a la cultura a la cual estoy acostumbrado. Otro característico de la gente costeña es que son muy descarados! Totalmente! No me entiendan mal - no pretendo ni criticar ni hacer juicios dañinos sobre una cultura diferente - pero si comparamos con otros latinos o con otros colombianos, los costeños son más directos, más extrovertidos y más frescos. Culo de lisos, como dicen muchos aquí!

Hace poco salimos a un bar de karaoke para festejar el primer cumpleaños de la sobrina de Rochy - allá bailamos y tomamos bastante. Después de un rato, vino un cantante-comediante que hace un show allá. Yo fui su primera victima de la noche - allí estaba yo, disfrutando del ambiente agradable, cuando de repente se me acercó este tipo y me cantó una serenata delante de todo el mundo, televisada allá. Incluso se me sentó en las piernas - fue una experiencia horrible pero bien divertida para todos. A los familiares de Rochy les gusta mucho mamar gallo (tomar el pelo) y les pareció lo más gracioso de la noche!



Un encuentro extraño en un hotel de cinco estrellas

Érase una vez… Rochy tuvo una entrevista en un hotel muy lujoso, y allá le iba a esperar leyendo algo o entreteniéndome con lo bonito del lugar. No obstante, se me acercó un tío y me empezó a hablar “como va usted?” etc… Resulta que el hombre, Pedro Medina, fue fundador de McDonalds en Colombia, arrancando el negocio aquí y ahora es presidente y director de una fundación llamada “Yo Creo En Colombia” que logra el empoderamiento de los colombianos con su país. La organización maneja charlas, presentaciones y proyectos, todos con el fin de construir capital social, confianza y conexión entre los colombianos.

Mientras esperaba a Rochy tuvimos una conversación muy interesante acerca de Colombia, incluso hablamos de cómo uno consigue lograr sus retos personales y como podemos llevar a cabo las cosas que más nos importan. Luego Pedro nos invitó a una charla que dio la misma noche en el Centro Hebraico de Barranquilla. Se llamó “porqué creer en Colombia?” y lo pasamos muy bien - de hecho me enteré de varias informaciones sobre el país, las cuales me sorprendían bastante.

Recomiendo una cosa - que ustedes se metan en esta página web para saber más de lo que hace esa fundación tan valerosa:

Yo Creo En Colombia

En resumen, creo q muchas veces la gente tiene miedo de hablar con desconocidos y en general existe una falta de confianza en aquéllos. Sin embargo, a veces es mejor quitar las barreras, saludar a alguien, romper el hielo y hablar. Para mí, esa actitud me servio muy bien aquel día, y por tanto me ha hecho pensar más en como nos relacionamos con otros.

Bueno, basta con los comentarios profundos. Espero que ustedes hayan gustado de mi primer blog. También espero sus comentarios, o en inglés o en español, como quieran. Que todos se encuentren muy bien.

Saludos desde Barranquilla!



Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

Bogota #1 - A military paradeBogota #1 - A military parade
Bogota #1 - A military parade

These soldiers moved like clockwork - it was very impressive


6th December 2006

racism
hi, I lived on the cost 6 months and everything you say reminds me of my first impressions there. People are friendly, loud, maybe too loud sometimes , exuberant. I remember I was shocked as well by how they use the term ``negro``, without any racist implication or connotation. However, trust me when I tell you there is a lot of racism on the coast and in all Colombia, for that matter.
6th December 2006

Hola from Hash
Hello Dr.Priestley Nice photos and nice tailor made shirts. Colombia looks beautiful in the photos and the food and fruit you described waters my mouth. Keep having fun! Adios amigo, Hash Dinei
7th December 2006

response to "Pink Mona"
I hope you enjoyed the blog and I appreciate your comment. I understand some of what you have written in your comment. Specifically, your impressions of the costeño people do echo my own. However, these are not my first impressions - I worked for AIESEC in Colombia for three months (also in Barranquilla) and this is in fact the third time I have been living here. Moreover, I have had a Colombian girlfriend for the past 18 months and I know the culture and the country quite well. Yes, there is some racism here. But there is also racism in Romania (I know - I lived there) and in the U.K. For this reason I preferred not to dwell on the racism here, but to comment upon what I perceive as the assets of Colombia culture - the energy, the colour, the pride and the passion. Like the organisation I referred to in the blog - Yo Creo en Colombia - I prefer to talk up Colombia rather than talk it down.
4th May 2007

that's cool
Hey body I'm from Barranquilla, but I live in Virginia. I love to see that you wen't there and liked my country, a lot of people have the wrong idea of Colombia. They all should do what you have done." GO TO QUILLA AND HAVE FUN " I don't know you or your girl, but you since like a nice couple.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb