Dancing next to the Church in La Ceja, Antioquia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Antioquia
June 30th 2012
Published: November 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

The disco next to a church!!The disco next to a church!!The disco next to a church!!

This deserves a Guiness record
The East of Antioquia is composed of 25 municipalities, that´s lots, and one of them is La Ceja which is actually called Valle de La Ceja del Tambo. Why? It seems that back in 1683 when there were no roads or anything, in order to camp on their way to Santiago de Arma, countrymen built a refuge or¨tambo¨ that they called La Ceja.

According to Wikipedia, La ceja is known by its religious concerns, and also its high academic quality. Please, do not expect me to explain the origin of the name as I have tried to find out but with no chance; let´s say that maybe their inhabitants wear lush eyebrows or something, but this is just my made-up explanation. So far, I haven't met any inhabitant to be able to judge my theory, sorry.





What I enjoyed the most was the fact that in such a religious country like Colombia -98% of the population are supposed to be catholic and we are quite respectful and conservative- in Antioquia there is a village where a disco is located next to a church: That's La Ceja, as you can see on one of the photos.
Some modern buildingsSome modern buildingsSome modern buildings

I was quite impressed that such a small village has some of these quite modern venues
That´s something that I didn´t think I would see in my life, but here you have it. That´s why, I reckon they deserve a Guiness record or at least a Colombian one for you won´t find any other place in the country with such layout of a town.





In La Ceja, I found out the reason why the paisa women are not only beautiful but courageous. When I first arrived there at the main plaza, there was this lady who was actually the owner of the park and who indicated cars where to park. Physically she was this delicate, nice, tender woman but when she first spoke, oh my God, I was even scared. I picture her as a happy lady in a matriarcal, I don´t know whether this word exists but we should coin one for her.





Once we had our car parked, it was then our turn to see the trade going on in the municipality. There you see everything, from the most colourful carthorse to the very modern car, people are occupied doing business, which is surely the reason why commerce is such a popular activity there. But let's not forget that we're talking about paisas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb