Desert, cacti, blistering sun and opps where is the water!!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
February 13th 2012
Published: February 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It is two weeks into my south american adventure yep made it this far for any of you doubters out there.

The plan I had, like the best plans did not quite go to plan.

At least that is how it is with me. Just like getting easily lost and not being able to work out how to download photos to this blogg. Hence the lack of them at the at moment.

Arrived in Illapel from Santiago by bus with two fellow volunteers Ben and Katie where I met up with a further two volunteers James and Phil. We all stayed with a Chilean family on the outskirts of the city. Excellent hospitality, cats, lots of kittens and two rather lively children.

Up to the Chinchilla volunteer station in the desert the next day after shopping at the local market for supplies. Too be honest I had a wee bit of anxiety at that point as the longest volunteer James had given a rather grim outlook the previous evening of what to expect at the dessert station . Most of which turned out to be not half as bleak.

The landscape is fierce and a stunning expanse of cacti , lots of wildlife you can spot and much you cannot. Chinchillas remained illusive but other rodents were visble mainly at dusk. Puma prints evident, insects a plenty some lethal. Hawks and other birds kept me greatly entertained. The stars at night ditto. The sun fierce and unforgiving to white scottish skin.

Basic facilities were an issue. It was evident that there had been no organised input or money and enough hands to make the project work in recent times.

One major issue being that the only very small water source was a reasonable distance probably 1/2 a km from the cabin. When working after gallant efforts from James and Katie was hampered by a very holey household hose exposed in the sun running through cacti and rocky terrain. Regardless of good efforts put in by us to fix this and get some organisation in camp it was a thankless task. We constructed a very basic shelter round the long drop toilet which previously was in the open air. The shower remains exposed also to to the elements and on a road. Water worked, water didn't work, water worked etc...

My decision to not put too much energy into organising camp and collecting and planting of seeds was decided because unless a stream of very committed volunteers continued to come to the project all work would be undone.

And the biggest vital need is for water. A decent hose, a water tank and irrigation system would be a great start. Having been informed that the request for a water tank was turned down. I concluded it would be futile to stay.

Amazing company, thank you Ben for the live music and constant entertainment. A walk up in the mountains proved although quite gruelling because of the heat was well worth it. Watching others enjoy my cooking. Were the highlights.

After just over a week at the desert station, now travelling north in the company of Phil.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

P2020024P2020024
P2020024

Tia?s house where I stayed first night in Illapel
P2020028P2020028
P2020028

Arrival at Desrt Camp James, Katie, Ben and Phil
P2030037P2030037
P2030037

Long drop project stage 1
P2030040P2030040
P2030040

Stage 3
P2030041P2030041
P2030041

Project long drop complete not pretty but at least the farmer doesnot have to see us toilet


22nd February 2012

Vege food etc
Hi Layla Gosh, I've learnt lots now from reading your blog. Views are amazing, desert certainly looks very dry. I like the pics of cats and kids. I am not surprised your cooking was appreciated, I miss it!! Rock on decent vege food and you know how to provide that. Look forward to hearing more. Love always.
25th February 2012
kittens are losing

I really like this picture!
Hey Layla hope you are well! Iv'e done my ankle in on a night out so im at mums having some TLC! Shes showing me your blog, I will write down the andress so I can look at it at home! Doesn't sound like you will be bring me a chinchilla home :( Maybe one of these kittens? As there really cute and look really cuddly! Then peekaboo will have a friend, or many friends if you bring all the kittens! Enough about kittens... Hope you are having an awsum time, thinking of you sis. Best of luck and lots of love Rachael xxx
26th February 2012

I am so glad I found your blogg
I am so glad i found your blogg and will sign in each week to see how you are getting on. It looks beautiful have a fantastic time!
29th February 2012

Very accurate
...and you have some great photos. Hope you don't mind that I have copied three of them for my blog - I will of course credit you, and feel free to copy any of mine. Yes, I found your blog at last!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb