Cajon de Maipo: Baños Morales


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile
October 9th 2009
Published: October 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pit StopPit StopPit Stop

Little town on the way that we stopped at for coffee and empanadas.
Last weekend my roommates and I went to Cajon de Maipo, a town in the mountains about two hours outside of Santiago. We rented cabañas (cabins) and stayed for just one night. When we got there we dropped our stuff off and immediatly went hiking. The hike was supposed to lead to a glacier and lake but everything was covered in snow. By the time we got back to the cabins I couldn´t feel my feet and my pants were wet up to my ankles. Since we were just going for a night, no one brought extra shoes so everyone put on a pair of socks and tied plastic grocery bags around their feet for the night, we were a pretty funny sight.
We brought about five kilos of meat and tons of other goodies for a big barbeque, ate our hearts out and played cards for the rest of the night.

The next day we rented horses and went on a ride through the mountains. We rode for about two hours, it was kind of funny, it´s been a while since I´ve ridden horses and I was a little nervous. It ended up being a blast, the guide and
GorgeGorgeGorge

It´s hard to see from this angle but I´m sitting on a rock over a huge gorge. There´s a little river running below.
I went ahead of everyone so we weren´t stuck walking for the whole time. It reminded me of horse camping with dad when I was younger in Cuiamaka (I have no idea how to spell that), but bigger and prettier. When we got back we made a big pasta lunch, played some more cards then headed back to Santiago.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Some RoommatesSome Roommates
Some Roommates

This was the beginning of the hike, still dry and happy.
The GangThe Gang
The Gang

One the hike.
WrestlingWrestling
Wrestling

Can´t take Juan anywhere and expect to stay dry and comfortable...
HikeHike
Hike

Some of the roomies... Molly (American), Nicholas (French), Matias (Chilean and flipping you off- sorry!), and me!
Asado!!!Asado!!!
Asado!!!

My favorite part of the trip...
BeautifulBeautiful
Beautiful

No need for words...
Horseback RideHorseback Ride
Horseback Ride

Vania and I on the ride.
Group Picture... almost!Group Picture... almost!
Group Picture... almost!

So I asked the guide to take a picture of the group. Can you spot me?? ha. I´m behind everyone, guess I should have just taken the picture...!
The CrewThe Crew
The Crew

It was all of my roommates (eight of us in all) and two of my roommate´s friends.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb