Fiestas, Nieve, Fiestas


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Viña del Mar
September 15th 2010
Published: September 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I swear I wrote another blog in between the last one and this one...but apparently not. But that means I have lots to tell. This whole week has begun the celebration of fiestas patrias, the Chilean independence day celebrations. There are more Chilean flags out than you could possibly imagine. Apparently it´s illegal for each building to not have at least one up for the month, and public venues such as my hospital are required to get even more decked out, with stories and pictures and all sorts of stuff. It´s fun to see how into it everyone gets. Pretty much the whole country has a 4 day weekend, which I´m sure helps people to get pumped.

The first fiesta event I went to was held by the university where I´ve been going to classes with my med student friends. My friend Valentina participated in a cueca competition and won! It was tons of fun to watch. It was a gorgeous day out with lots of little things going on. There was delicious food, a mechanical bull, tug of war, various dances, and generally good times.

This weekend I went to the Andes with my friend Caitlin and went snowboarding. The sites were amazing though the runs a bit slow. And man was it expensive! It was sunny out though, and the snow was sparkly, and most importantly we were in the Andes. Always a worthwhile trip. Of course my camera decided to break, and Caitlin didn´t bring hers so the memories will have to suffice. I´m glad we went at any rate, as how often do you get a chance to say, so I was skiing in the Andes...There was an earthquake while we were there (just a baby one, they happen a lot here) which was a bit scary to be on the ski lift for. Of course absolutely nothing came of it.

Yesterday Caitlin, Joey, Allie and I went to Ritoque, this somewhat secluded beach up near the place I´ve been riding in the dunes. It was an unplanned trip, and worked out so perfectly. We took the wrong micro (bus) at first but got about half way there before realizing, and therefore didn´t pay for that part of the trip because the driver was probably thinking oh stupid gringas. Then we got dropped off like 3 miles away from the beach and decided to hoof it. A few minutes later a taxi said they´d take us for 3 bucks. The beach was beautiful. It was so secluded and quite. We deemed it mermaid cove. We ate lunch there, and then walked around the dunes for a bit. We sat in the warm sand by some railroad tracks, and a train actually came! They stopped right in front of us and asked us if we wanted to take a picture on the train. Then we aksed if we could ride with them for awhile and they let us. It was so much fun and serendipitous.

Today we have another university party to attend. The girls and I are also making chilean flag dresses/outfits. I´m probably going to be nonstop celebrating from now until the moment I leave, at least that´s what my chilean friends tell me. There are barbecues to attend, fireworks, different local alcohols to try, dances to do, folk festivals and so much more. It should be great.

I can´t believe how soon I leave! I´m starting to get ready for the trip home. Figuring out how to pack everything, how I´m going to get to the airport etc. I´m saying bye to one of my best friends here today as he´s going home (up north in the atacama) for the fiestas. I´m so sad to be leaving, but I know logically that that´s a wonderful thing. Being sad to say goodbye to people and a place is the best mark of a great adventure. And coming home is also always a good feeling. This will probably be my last blog, as I am no longer technically supposed to be here therefore have to stay away from the computers. Thanks for following my adventures, and the kind notes some of you have sent. Lots of love as always, and see (at least some) you in a few short days now!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb