Vacation January 2009...Part 2


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Viña del Mar
February 28th 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Here is part 2. After Carlos got sick, was in bed 2 days, and recovered, we (my decision this time!) went canopying, headed to Villarica (which is kind of like a ghost town now. Since Pucon became the "go to" place, everyone abandoned Villarica for Pucon.) Then off to Lincan Rey. A wonderful trip overall and other great oppportunity to see and get to know Chile.

Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

the hot springsthe hot springs
the hot springs

After our volcano trip, that night we went to one of the several natural hot springs in Pucon
Look what I found?Look what I found?
Look what I found?

Hotel Oregon
the woodthe wood
the wood

In the south, wood is popular. This is a "feria" of wood kitchen utensils
My new indian friendMy new indian friend
My new indian friend

Mapucho is the native indigenous population in Southern Chile.
Our humble aboadOur humble aboad
Our humble aboad

this is our "cabana" with private bath. woo-hoo
canopy adventurecanopy adventure
canopy adventure

11 platforms, about 20 feet up, over a river, what am I doing??? And this was my idea.
the cable of deaththe cable of death
the cable of death

Or at least how I felt for the first few platforms. By the end i was enjoying myself.
I made it! I made it!
I made it!

Me, with a few of the guides.
Pucon BeachPucon Beach
Pucon Beach

Pucon is on Lake Villarica and the beaches are PACKED all summer long.
VillaricaVillarica
Villarica

After Pucon we went to Villarica (which was the resort town before Pucon started up. It feels like a ghost town now). Carlos hanging out on the lake.
Lincan ReyLincan Rey
Lincan Rey

After Villarica, we headed to Lincan Rey for a church retreat. Here we rented make-shift paddle boats. They weighed a ton
The islandsThe islands
The islands

That little speck on the right, next to those 2 bigger islands, that is where we went in our paddle boat. I don't know what we were thinking.
us in our kayakus in our kayak
us in our kayak

It was Carlos' first time in a kayak. He was a little afraid but did well


4th March 2009

i was there
it is simply lovely... i just cant get enough of it.. really.. i love it.. specially lican-ray and caburga.. love swimming in those waters... did u see a rock near the island.. i swam there.. on my own... hehe nice pics

Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb