Happy 1st Anniversary!!!


Advertisement
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Carlos and I celebrated our 1st anniversary.

It went by soooo fast!


March 29th was our religious wedding ceremony. Here in Chile you have to be married by the state (not the church) for it to be legal. So what a lot of religous people do is have 2 ceremonies. 1 for the church and 1 for the civil registry which can be before or after the religious one. That means you have 2 anniversaries! (lucky for the women!!!) What we did was have our religous wedding first on March 29th, then used a new law in Chile where you can register your religious ceremony with the state, without an official ceremony. You have 7 days from the religous ceremony to do so or it is invalid and you have to start the process over. We celebrate our religous one since we are Christians and that is more important to us.

Sunday, March 29th was our anniversary and it was a busy day (but not because of our anniversary). We were at a church retreat with Carlos' family all weekend and then the national soccer team played that night so we didn't have the chance to celebrate.
Carlos made a sign for meCarlos made a sign for meCarlos made a sign for me

The sign said, "Happy 1st Anniversary. I adore you!" Que lindo.
I was kind of bummed but Carlos more than made up for it. He started (which I hope to be a yearly tradition!!!) what he called our, "Anniversary Week" where we did something special every day of the week.


He has definately set the bar high. I loved our week together. He did very very good. I love you Carlos!!!! This whole latin lover things isn't so bad. 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Day 2: Romantic dinnerDay 2: Romantic dinner
Day 2: Romantic dinner

We had the whole restaurant to ourselves.
Day 3: my ringDay 3: my ring
Day 3: my ring

Carlos bought me a lapizlazuli. That is a stone that exists mainly in Chile and Afganistan. It is a dark blue stone and I love it!!
Day 3: lunch dateDay 3: lunch date
Day 3: lunch date

The lovely restaurant overlooking the port in Valpo.
The restaurantThe restaurant
The restaurant

It was a mix of artsy things, paintings, nic-nacs but it had its charm. And cheap food!
Days 4, 5, and 6: my secret presentsDays 4, 5, and 6: my secret presents
Days 4, 5, and 6: my secret presents

I have a minor obsession with pepper here in Chile & have wanted a pepper grinder for a while. The flower thing is a candle, and the red mug Carlos bought because I never finish my tea because I end up getting distracted with something & it gets cold. This way it won't get cold.
Today, Thursday , secret present and shawermaToday, Thursday , secret present and shawerma
Today, Thursday , secret present and shawerma

Shawerma is a arabic food, a big pita sandwhich with slow roasted meat, roasted tomates and lettuce with an awesome garlic sauce. It is a restaurant we frequently owned by a Syrian family.
I love you a lot more than 180 lucas"I love you a lot more than 180 lucas"
I love you a lot more than 180 lucas"

Even though I got angry, sorry!. May God bless you. Explaination: this day I got my ATM card stolen and about 180 luca (180,000 chilean pesos which is about 380 dollars) were stolen from our bank account. Rough day!


6th April 2009

Congrats!
So happy for you two...wish you were closer so we can help celebrate the big 1! Love to you...The Scott Clan 7
6th April 2009

Congrats Tori!
Tori! Sounds like your anniversary week was beyond compare. Glad to hear that the two of you are still falling deeper in love.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb