Cajon de Maipu


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Viña del Mar
October 11th 2007
Published: October 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last Saturday I went with Carlos and his co-worker Julia and her friend to the Cajon de Maipu. It is this area outside of Santiago that is in the mountains. Very nature-like. Rivers, mountains, trees. Its beautiful!!! It was nice not to see sky-scrapers, supermarkets and crowded streets. And the weather was great! Sunny and breezy. Trekking, rafting, rock climbing, camping lots of outdoor activities to do. There are a few outfits that you can go with or you can go on your own. Carlos and I want to go back one weekend to camp!




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The CrewThe Crew
The Crew

Carlos, Julia and I at the Cajon. Julia is the accountant at Carlos'work. Really sweet and energetic!
A little restA little rest
A little rest

We climbed down to the river and took a nice long rest on the rocks. It was great to hear the sound of the water and nothing else. No dogs barking, horns honking, students complaining, etc....
The Cajon style!The Cajon style!
The Cajon style!

A lot of houses and hotels here have this very whimsical style. It reminded me of Frodo from The Lord of the Rings or something. beautiful but I cant imagine actually living in one of these place and always having wake up to that every morning.
Carlos and the dorky hatCarlos and the dorky hat
Carlos and the dorky hat

He forgot his hat and the only one we could find was Julia's hat. Its one of those over-sized stylish hats FOR WOMEN!!! He put it on but couldnt handle it so I gave him mine and I wore the dorky hat. Whatever. It kept the sun of my face.
The colectivo ride back homeThe colectivo ride back home
The colectivo ride back home

The colectivo (taxi) ride back home was quite an adventure. We got in and were immediately surrounded by lot so black and white spots and blue lights! The man had decoreated his car as a COW. yes a cow! That is what I said. Everything.
more cowsmore cows
more cows

I took out my camera to take a picture (tried to be descreet) but the driver sawm y flash and asked me what I was doing? I got nervious. I thought he was mad. But he told me to make sure and get a picture of the stuff animal cows on the dashboard!!! He was very proud of his car.
last cow piclast cow pic
last cow pic

We got out of the car and were laughing as we were walking down the sidewalk. The taxi passed by and honked its horn: A cow mooooo!!!! Hysterical. I love Chile.


13th October 2007

amazing
Wow, the landscape is beautiful and you look so happy and in love!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.024s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb