Oh, the laundry!!!


Advertisement
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

Here it is in all it´s beautiful gloryHere it is in all it´s beautiful gloryHere it is in all it´s beautiful glory

I bought twine that I strung between the metal hooks of my curtains. Here is where I dry my underwear, socks and bras. Approximateyl 4 days later they are ok to take down (but not COMPLETELY dry :)
As winter has set in and the dampness and cold has seeped through every fiber of my being (not really...it could be worse as my friend Nancy reminded me. She lives in southern Chile and has snow on a regular basis all winter long but with the same lack of heat as I do) I have come across a new challenge: How to dry my clothes. Normally, as most chileans do not have dryers only washing machines, they have drying racks that they set outside; ours is on our balcony. But that doesn´t do much good when its pouring down rain! You learn to take advantage of every single dry day that comes. Even if its freezing cold, better than damp. Anywas, so I have devised a very simple yet effective drying system in my room. Check out the photos! Oh the memories I will have from this experience just keep mounting.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My other drying rack!My other drying rack!
My other drying rack!

This is my jewelry rack that I have hanging on my wall. I thought it would be a good place to hang more clothes.
And yet more creativity on my partAnd yet more creativity on my part
And yet more creativity on my part

Now the challenge was trying to figure out where to hang my t-shirts. I scanned my room for a few minutes and ah-hah!!! Bingo! I put them on the shelves of my closet and just left the door open for 4 days. not the most attractive but it did the job.
Then the light bulb went on! ding.Then the light bulb went on! ding.
Then the light bulb went on! ding.

As I was about to give-up on more spots in my room, I thought, ¨What one second Tori. How could you use the heat from your light bulbs? It is the only heat that you have in this darn apartment. Ding! Ding! So I put socks over the lamp shades and even clothes pinned them around the edge. Desperate times call for desperate meausures people.


25th June 2007

Fire is good
Wow, drying your clothes seems like such a battle! Times like these I'm very thankful for the woodburning stoves we have that provide sufficient heat for efficient drying. Stay warm Tori!

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb