Weekend in Valpo


Advertisement
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Police In Riot GearPolice In Riot GearPolice In Riot Gear

There were protests going on when I arrived in the ciy. Couldn't get a picture of the water cannons. They love those things here.
Two weeks ago I went to Valparaiso for the weekend to celebrate Steve's birthday and enjoy an urban lifestyle. Unfortunately, I wasn't about to enjoy much in the way of food as I had been sick during the week and my stomach is still, 3 weeks later, not normal. We had a wonderful time none- the- less and I was reminded of the fact that I am just not cut out for this small town living thing. 😊 We were in the areas of El Plan, the lower commercial district, and Cerros Bellavista and Concepcion. The views from everywhere were awesome and murals that cover the walls of the 2 cerros give everystreet character.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Ascensor: Closed Ascensor: Closed
Ascensor: Closed

It was a holiday. Guess we have to climb the steps.
My Valpo DogMy Valpo Dog
My Valpo Dog

This dog lived outside of our Hostal and sat with us at a nearby cafe.
Happy Birthday SteveHappy Birthday Steve
Happy Birthday Steve

Steve celebrated with an Indy 500 glass.
KunstmannKunstmann
Kunstmann

I have NEVER been a beer drinker but German immigrants in Chile have developed a beer that must also have cocaine in it as I can't resist.
Ascensor to ConcepcionAscensor to Concepcion
Ascensor to Concepcion

The oldest in Valpo. Built in 1883.
Carrying Home GroceriesCarrying Home Groceries
Carrying Home Groceries

People think I'm crazy when I live on the third floor. These people have to walk up a small mountain stopping to rest every 20 feet.
Colorful HousesColorful Houses
Colorful Houses

What makes Valpo so fun? All the color


10th June 2010

your pictures
I was finally able to open your e-mails. Your pictures are wonderful and what a fabulous time you are having. So glad you have this opportunity and are having such fun. Look forward to being able to read more from you. Love, Fa

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb