Going to El Melon


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Limache
July 12th 2007
Published: July 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello family and friends!

Last night, we took a van ride (the driver was a friend of my Mom and Dad) to El Melon, which is just North of Santiago (about 60 miles). When we arrived it was 10:30PM. As soon as I got a chance, I flopped in bed and fell asleep.

This morning I woke up, went next door (to the house of my Mom and Dad´s friends), and had breakfast. I had flavored Cheerios for breakfast, hockey puck bread (round wheat bread that's kinda hard), and orange juice. The breakfast was long and conversational, but I finished. Then I got up and went to the garage, which the family uses as a small grocery store! The family sells candy, vegetables, hockey puck bread, soda, chocolate milk, and that sorta stuff.

After breakfast, we went to a small park with swings and two very steep teeter totters. Then we took a taxi to La Calera, where my Mom worked in the Peace Corps. When you guys are burning hot up in Portland, which is North of Chile, we´re wearing gloves and hats down here. The sun didn´t come out today, so it´s much colder than yesterday (high 30s, low 40s). But what do you expect? It´s winter.

I´m out of words now. Please write more! Your messages are a highlight of my day.

I look forward to seeing you again.

Max

Advertisement



12th July 2007

Hi Max, I'm saying "hi" from Henry. He is away with Mark at camp for two days. Noah will write to you later. Your appreciation for fish products is admirable. Actually, all your enthusiasm is pretty impressive. You seem to be really enjoying yourself on your great adventure. Portland is cooling off so it's now enjoyable for us to open our doors and let the breeze in. The kids have been going to the Wilson Pool every day. That must sound weird to you now that you've adjusted to winter. Keep those blog updates coming.
13th July 2007

Hot and cold
Dear Max and Isabel, It's only 90 here today so you have missed the really very hot days when it was about a 100. Birds were laying on their backs - on the ground - with their wings spread out. A squirrel was flopped on the top of the fence with his tongue hanging out. I turned the sprinkler on him but he didn't seem to appreciate it. I tried to work outside but soon I was dragging around thinking about a nap. Oh, well, it's supposed to cool down into the 80's by next week. The only world news here is HARRY POTTER! Harry potter socks, Harry Potter underwear, Harry Potter bananas, Harry Potter flavored Cherioooooos - well, maybe not that one - yet - but soon I bet. Stay warm and write as often as you can - and more pictures. How else will we know if its really you? Try to learn one new thing each day, write it in your diary and tell me about it when you get home. Love, Uncle Jim
13th July 2007

Thursday
And your comments are the highlight of my day! There are just a few days before the final Harry Potter books arrive in the bookstores. There is much speculation as to whether Harry will survive or not. Want to bet? Love to you all, Auntie

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb