Farellones Ski Hostel


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Valle Nevado
August 3rd 2008
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Farellones Again...

So we had to come back up to the ski resort to collect our boards and snow gear. Turns out we timed it perfectly; arriving the day that a big snow storm came and riding in perfect sunny fresh powder conditions the next day. The best riding day of the season, couldn’t have got much better than that. Though luck from me ran out quickly when we were riding home our usual slope, Andrea and I met a dog on the slopes. We were taking photos of him as he sat down next to us all friendly. We continued to ride on and then we went into some fresh powder. I got stuck up to my knees in the powder and as I was trying to get out the same dog was coming towards me. Andrea and I were saying “how sweet he thinks he needs to come and rescue me!” WRONG! I was viciously attacked by the dog. Screaming and crying for 5 minutes I tried to get him off me but I was strapped into my snowboard and stuck in powder and couldn’t move and he didn’t care that I was punching him in the face and throwing snow at him. Luckily I had my watch on as he had hold of my wrist with my watch mostly in his mouth for a long time. As Andrea climb back up to my rescue she wacked the dog with her snowboard as I quickly unstrapped. Thanks Drea your my hero! The boys at this point had arrived behind us and came to our rescue as we were hysterically distraught that I had just been mauled by a dog! Crying and shaking the boys took us home as we were still being followed by the dog. Drew threw his snowboard at him several times as he wouldn’t give up the chase! Lucky for my big puffy jacket, snow pants and gloves I walked away with a couple of scratches, but nothing that broke my skin - don’t worry I had my rabies shot! So who would of thought of a dog attacking you on a ski field? - Only in South America I guess??



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb