Chile - at last we meet!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
January 2nd 2012
Published: January 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Madrid AirportMadrid AirportMadrid Airport

A photo I took when I first arrived at Madrid airport (5 hours prior to my departure time). It was eerily dead in there for the first couple of hours!
Hola chicos y chicas.

I have arrived here safely after a somewhat gruelling 24 hour journey. Somehow my memories of the bad parts of the journey (of which, thankfully, there are few) are already fading. Cheesy as it sounds, seeing the mountains as the plane was landing pretty much eradicated all the boredom and anxiety!

After blundering my way through a conversation about Santiago with a very nice taxi driver I arrived safely at my hostel. All checked in and sorted and so far I´ve managed to find several little shops where I've stocked up on plenty of water!! I think I´ve definately thrown myself in at the deep end here with regards to practicing the language. Still, so far I´ve had a conversation about tuna with a very friendly shop assistant, and been complimented on my sandals by another (I didn´t think it wise to let her know that they´re actually boy´s shoes... and perhaps that´s not something I should admit on here either...)

I'm pleased to say that so far I've only got lost once - and luckily Chilean people seem to be very friendly and with the help of two very patient passersby I found
Swimming Pool!Swimming Pool!Swimming Pool!

Fairly sure my feet haven´t seen sunlight in about 4 months so this is quite an event for me!
my way back to the hostel. The hostel is pretty cool (and has free internet). It's fairly quiet but most the people I´ve spoken to have a reasonable level of English so we've managed to converse with a mix of both languages :D Needless to say I've already busted out the bikini and gone for a dip in the swimming pool. It´s about 31 degrees here at the minute and tomorrow and the following day look set to be the same. It's brilliant but my poor little English skin doesn´t tend to think so. No signs of burning so far...

Besos,

Laura

Advertisement



2nd January 2012

Buenas day-ass!
Get some sun-tan lotion on those little pinkies! xx
3rd January 2012

Chile Welcomes LP
Woo Hoo - You made it me amigo! Am loving the blog already and am an avid reader - That LP humour in full affect already. It looks sunny and beautiful (& I'm talking about Madrid airport) whilst in Happy Hatfield it's beyond grim. Windy (nearing Hurricane proportions), raining and so grey I'm not actually sure it's ever going to be legal to say its daytime. Loving your sense of timing - England is not fun come the new year :-( Am jealous in the extreme so make the most of it :-)p.s Sylevester says Hi - too lazy to write his own message

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0816s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb