Low flying smog


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
May 31st 2009
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Santiago rather late at night, so just had enough energy for a quick feed then it was bedtime. The following morning, I awoke, stepped out of my hostel and saw the Andes. I'd spent a long part of my trip following these mountains south, but hadn't seen hide nor hair of them since Ushuaia. It was a bit like seeing an old friend. I also saw a not so old friend, as Oscar, a Chilean whom I'd met in Rio, had invited me to stay. I shifted my stuff from the hostel to his place, and then it was time for lunch.

Fed and watered, Oscar took me out to explore his hometown/city. Being as I had very limited time, it was definitely useful to have a local to point me round the highlights. We'd climbed Corcovado together in Rio, so he knew that one of my favourite ways to get to see a city is to climb to a nice lookout. So thats what we did. And from this lookout there was a great few of the Andes to the east.

But what was to the west I hear you cry? Why surely it was the city of Santiago. Well yes it was. But it was covered by a thick layer of smog, which is rather unpleasant. Perhaps all the folks wearing swine flu masks weren't quite so silly after all.

Anyway, once we descended from the lofty peak, Oscar showed me around some other bits and bobs of the city. It was alright, pleasant enough without ever being outstanding. I think it could be another one of those cities that you actually have to stick around in a bit to really appreciate.

I then skipped off to Valparaiso for a bit, which will be blogged separately, before returning to Santiago for another evening before my flight to Easter Island. Staying in Oscar's flat gave me a good opportunity for me to assess where my Spanish had got to, as neither Oscar nor his flatmates spoke much English. And to be honest, I was quite happy. When they were talking amongst themselves, I didn't understand much, but then, even Argentinians say they don't understand Chileans. But I could quite happily hold a conversation as long as they knew to speak a bit slower and clearer when talking to me. Not bad for someone who didnt speak a word 9 months ago.

And so it was with a heavy heart that I took my flight out of mainland South America. Nothing's guaranteed in this world, but I reckon it won't be the last time I'm on those shores.

Stewart


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb