Terremoto y cafes con piernas


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
February 17th 2006
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

GregGregGreg

He REALLY likes terremoto!
OK, yesterday I managed to find 2 things that I like about Santiago!! The first is a cultural phenomenon that I guess was bred out of the fact that (I believe) divorce only became legal here within the last year or so.

A Cafe con piernas (coffee with legs) is a place where I guy will go during his lunch break, or after a hard days work for a quick coffee before heading home. There´s nowhere to sit, you just stand at the counter and drink your coffee. Hence ´with legs´. Oh, and the waitresses are wearing the tiniest little bikinis ever. And because it was an important cultural experience we had all the girls who work at the school (including the director) telling us which they´d heard were best to go to and printing us maps off the internet.

Terremoto is a drink that we drank in a typical old traditional bar. It´s wine, some kinda juice, pineapple ice-cream, and I´m sure there´s something stronger in there too. Pisco or something probably. Different. Kinda tasty. And absolutely lethal!!

Oh, and I finally snuck a puck at the Andes. Considering they´re so huge and tower over the city,
GroupGroupGroup

After Terremoto
they´re surprisingly difficult to see. I think I´m on the wrong side of the city and there´s too many high-rise buildings.

OK, this evening after class I get on a bus to Valparaiso for the weekend.

Wogeo, don´t take too long thinking up my next Wogeo Challenge TM!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

GustavGustav
Gustav

Go gustav!!
With ChristianWith Christian
With Christian

The guy who organised this whole spanish course thing for me
With KarinWith Karin
With Karin

German Chica. Love the guy in the background!!


Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb