Week 5


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
September 30th 2008
Published: October 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Travel BuddiesTravel BuddiesTravel Buddies

Here we are during our week long loop around Conce
Hola!
This blog will be a bit shorter today since I am writing on the go. Today we went to the House of Pablo Neruda, in Isla negra *he had many houses9* The architecture there is something else. Everything is designed to look like a ship. We also went to Vina del Mar, and the beach. I am in Santiago right now awaiting a trip to the North. We are going to Valle de la Luna which is supposed to feel like you are on the moon. Classes in Conce have finally gotten rolling and I am learning a lot of Spanish as well as the politics here which are very interesting. We are also learning a lot in the area studies class. I have met many friends here in Chile and have been trying to spend much time with them to pick up the culture and language. I am doing well down here still. I hope everyone is good in the states. Take care! and there is more to come later from Conce.
Jake

PS here are some pictures from travels past


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

TaxiTaxi
Taxi

I was excited to go snowboarding...
FriendsFriends
Friends

The crew in Laja on independence day.
U de ConceU de Conce
U de Conce

Here is a shot of the campus.
ClownClown
Clown

Here is one of many street performers if you can see him.
La QuecaLa Queca
La Queca

Here is a shot of La queca, a traditional Chilean dance. We saw a ton of this on independence day.


1st October 2008

Wow! I so admire and love Pablo Neruda's writings - have read many of his. They are some of the most wonderful I have read, especially his poetry. Did you know he took his name from a famous Czech poet named Neruda? I was on a very main historic street named Nerudarova, in Prague in June during my trip with the community band. Pablo's Memoirs is a wonderful book about his fascinating life. This reminds me that I'd like to read the Czech Neruda, too. What an interesting experience you are having, Jake. Love, Aunt Carol

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb