Santiago & Surround


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
October 31st 2007
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After an 18 hour bus journey from Antofogasta, I arrived in Santiago, Chile's capital with a population of 6 million. It is nestled amoung the Andes, though often these cannot be seen due to the smog.

The hostel I stayed at was quite nice and very relaxed, and was hosting a wine tasting the first night I arrived. How could I say no? During the wine tasting I found out that the manager of the hostel also had a beach house 2 hours north of Santiago, which he only opened on weekends and if enough people where interested. Two irish guys were going, so I jumped at the chance of spending a few days at the sea, relaxing, and taking a short break from the travelling. I just spent 3 days lazing in the sun, reading, relaxing and in the evenings we had braai's, beers and a bonfire!

Back in Santiago I spent a few days seeing some of the few sights and planning my onward travel. In the hostel I also met Ollie, an Irish guy with the same travel plans as me, so we decided to head south together...



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb