Final Callings...the last entry


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
April 16th 2007
Published: April 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fractured thoughtFractured thoughtFractured thought

Statue in Plaza de Armas, Santiago.
I remember having the entire contents of my backpack spilt out across the floor, imagining the adventures ahead. The unknown was coated with excitement and anticipation. Yet with each footstep, bus ride, river crossed, canyon descended, mountain range passed, the journey has slowly unravelled. With each friendship formed, cuisine savoured, drunken exploits (forgotten) and stone unturned, the mystery has now transformed into an experience, one that resolves itself to be etched permanently in my soul. As I had hoped, I have grown through all of this and the experiences in South America have made me a better, stronger person. Each country serves differently in my memory, yet they have all combined to create a truly unforgettable passage in my life.

Before the cultural learnings, the self-discovery and the introduction to hot dogs with potato chips, it has been the people I've been lucky enough to meet that will linger longest in my memories. To the Cabezas family, I owe an incredible amount to and the times we shared were the true highlight of my travels. To Reid, Anthony, Jonathan, Milo, Rosie, Phil and Stevie, Juancho, Sofi, Robin, Damien, the Norwegian girls, Leon and everyone else (sorry who I
Floating BusesFloating BusesFloating Buses

I recommended a bridge. On the way to La Paz.
have forgotten!), I'm sending you all a cheerio and thanks for the good times. Stay in touch!

My memories of La Paz will be tainted by the fact I spent 3 out of the 5 days I was there in bed, trying to determine whether it would be seconds or minutes before my next mad dash to the toilet. Aaahhh, happy days. Still, I caught up with some good friends and was able to see a little of this crazy city. Farewelled my brief stay in Bolivia by going with my American mate Anthony to one of the finest restaurants in La Paz. There we ate like kings and drank to our heart's content, accompanied by live piano and a band of merry local waiters. A fitting farewell to our (Anthony and I) adventures in South America.

From La Paz it was an easy bus ride down to Santiago surrounded by the seemingly eternal stretch of sands of the Atacama desert. It only took 40 hours!!! Aahhh, deep sigh.
In all honesty, I had no pre-conceptions of Santiago and it took only one morning wandering about her beautiful, tree-lined streets to fall for this city. It
LlamasLlamasLlamas

The small llamas are common but the rich actually buy and bury fully grown adult llamas.
has a perfect blend of South America, Europe and Melbourne waiting to surprise around every corner. I have literally spent days just strolling the plazas and cobble-stoned streets, soaking up the vibrant atmosphere, beautiful architecture and perfect climate. The city is dripping with artistic atmosphere: there is a constant array of street performers, live music, artwork and innumerable stalls and markets. And I haven't been sick for a moment!!! There is much more to see here than I have been able to in a few days and it will be added to my growing list of 'must see places on my next South America trip...'

Four and a half months later and the curtains are finally being drawn on my trip through the Americas. Six countries, all bursting with vibrant memories, will live on in my heart and mind. It is a strange feeling to return, which anyone ending their travels will tell you. But I have even better parts of my life that await back home and for this reason I can end these travels with a contented promise: that I will return to this continent and continue where I left off. I have had such an
Witches Market, La PazWitches Market, La PazWitches Market, La Paz

Llama foetuses hang alongside statuettes of religous Gods. Locals buy the llamas and bury them under new houses or stores as an offering to the Gods.
amazing time and will return home, happy to the people and the places that I have missed so much...

Thanks to everyone who has followed my travels, stayed in touch and picked me up when the travelling life had me down. Can't wait to see you soon. Be happy and be well.

With love,

Dale.




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

New vs OldNew vs Old
New vs Old

Skyscraper reflecting statue of saint.
Fading DayFading Day
Fading Day

Sun falls on the old and new Santiago.
Cathedral LightCathedral Light
Cathedral Light

Mirrored cathedral tower covered in light.
Street PuppetryStreet Puppetry
Street Puppetry

Locals enjoying the show.
Street PerformersStreet Performers
Street Performers

In action, classic stuff.
European CornerEuropean Corner
European Corner

I stayed on Calle Paris, adorned with cobble stoned roads and buildings reminiscent of old Europe.
Touch of EuropeTouch of Europe
Touch of Europe

Calle Londres (London St.).
Street Performer Street Performer
Street Performer

Locals look on with amusement.
Street Performer Street Performer
Street Performer

Searching for his next victim of comedy.
GuardGuard
Guard

Royal Palace guard on watch.
HarpHarp
Harp

Contrasts in an amazing city.
Blessed birdBlessed bird
Blessed bird

Silhouetted drinking 'blessed' bird.
City skylineCity skyline
City skyline

Last rays of the day shadow the city skyline.


23rd April 2007

Congratulations!
Congrats Dale, congrats on living, enjoying, growing (not in size but in heart :)), learning, loving! Reading your journals has been great, thanks so much for sharing! Love, Caro

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb