A time travel to South America


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
March 15th 2007
Published: March 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A few days ago I arrived in Santiago with an ordinary airplane (A340) from Auckland, earlier than the time I left New Zealand. Actually, I thought time travel feels more rough or would be pretty dangerous - Au contraire ! I left Kiwiland at 16.00 o'clock and landet in Chile at 11.00 o'clock at the exact same day. I feel much younger now.
Oh well....but never mind.

Santiago is a huge city and the streets are pulsing like veins. It seemed to me like an endless stream of people young and old, some stranded on the sidewalk, rattling with a cup of change. Santiago has all the symptomes of metropol, traffic jams, skyscrapers, shopping malls, fast food, subway, pollution, grafitti, markets, homeless, museums, bars and so on. Maybe the whole city just ran over me like a 10 ton truck... In my memories NZ was different, more calm and clean. But on the other hand NZ is not as populated as Santiago. So finaly the urban truck set me asleep until 2.00pm the next day.

Santiago offers a broad span of culture and entertainment, so I visited the Museum Arte Precolombino. It displays relicts from the ancient Maya and other tribes from that age. It was interesting to see how many drugs were involved in their rituals and they used mummification of the dead before the egyptians.

So if your feed are on flames you can either take the metro or enjoy the evening in the quater around the hostel. We did the last thing. Some guys, which I´d met at the hostel, and I went to place called the fat cow which was conveniently was just down the road. Each of us ate a 500 gramm Filet for just 4300 Chile Pesos.. about 6 Euro. See the picture, if you don´t believe me. Afterwards we took a tempting taxi to the sonorous Santiago Jazz Club and chilled with chile jazz.

The last day I went up to the madre del Santiago and the Santiago Zoo. The view from the summit was actually more beautiful than seeing the animals in too small enclosures.

Tomorrow I´ll get up at the crack of dawn and catch a flight to Ushuaia, the most southern city in the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

the pilgrims candlesthe pilgrims candles
the pilgrims candles

like the plates in Japan´s temples. Near the candles are prayer and wishes on the wall.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

They have heaps of animals here, but I don´t think that they have enough space.
Basilica del SalvadorBasilica del Salvador
Basilica del Salvador

the front seems to be restored but the back still needs a lot of work. This interesting structure is situated just around the corner of where my hostel is.
Basilica del SalvadorBasilica del Salvador
Basilica del Salvador

the front seems to be restored but the back still needs a lot of work. This interesting structure is situated just around the corner of where my hostel is.
Tribunales de JusticiaTribunales de Justicia
Tribunales de Justicia

This picture is for Anke, so she can see how her workplace would look like in Santiago.
a skywalk in Santiagoa skywalk in Santiago
a skywalk in Santiago

This reminds me of a project done by Thomas M. But Thomas probably would have used self cleaning windows instead of placing an ungly vehicle at the outside. LOL
Santiago´s MetroSantiago´s Metro
Santiago´s Metro

Never use it in the rush hour. I waited 3 trains until I figured that I will just have to squeeze in.. uhh
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

They have heaps of animals here, but I don´t think that they have enough space.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

They have heaps of animals here, but I don´t think that they have enough space.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

They have heaps of animals here, but I don´t think that they have enough space.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

They have heaps of animals here, but I don´t think that they have enough space.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

They have heaps of animals here, but I don´t think that they have enough space.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

They have heaps of animals here, but I don´t think that they have enough space.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

They have heaps of animals here, but I don´t think that they have enough space. This poor fellow had to scratch his paws on a metal door.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

Even Sigfried and Roy were here.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

This is a Mara. It looks like a mixture between wallabe and rabbit. They life about 10-12 years. Mara´s are found in Argentina.
Zoolocico NacionalZoolocico Nacional
Zoolocico Nacional

A Condor. They raise them here an then reintroduce them to the wild.


Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 22; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb